PDA

View Full Version : Just inherited a new computer ~

Xonan
06-21-2002, 04:47 PM
Forgive me, but I am a newbie to this sort of thing and have a few questions. ShowEq forum is locked, so I apologize for posting this here but I wasn't sure where else to post it. My friend recently bought a new computer, so I'm inheriting an additional machine. I'm trying to figure out what to do with it.

I play two accounts with Everquest using EQW on the same computer, but obviously since I use the one comp to play both simultaneously, I have the same IP address for each copy of everquest.

I was wondering if it would still be possible for ShowEQ to work under these circumstances, or would I have to run only one copy of the game to keep it working.

Also, how would I go about converting the new computer to linux from windows? Would I just download Linux and install it while windows is active, or do I reformat the PC and try to start it up using a linux boot disc?

Lastly, I would need a router to link the two PCs, correct? Or do I need a HUB? Is there a difference between the two, and which brand or type do you recommend as best?

Again, I'm sorry for all these questions, I'm just trying to get things straight before I spend any more time and money on this game .

Nurseling
06-21-2002, 10:06 PM
It is recently added feture from the wonderful Developement team

I beleive the feature is called session tracking.:

Latigid
06-22-2002, 05:19 AM
Not sure about the session tracking thing but I wouldn't doubt the SEQ developers would have thought about that.

On installing Linux over Windows, yes, download the ISO images of the distribution you choose and boot off the first. Beyond that I'd recommend three things:

1. Do some reading in the documentation section of linux.org. There's lots of howto's to get you started (pay attention to the one on partitioning - this ain't the same as Windows partitioning).