PDA

View Full Version : EQ Encryption

frizzo
06-23-2002, 04:41 AM
I have been using seq for a while now on and off, and started thinking about a way to make our guilds website more dynamic. Basicly, automatic char updates.

I started digging around in the seq code, and have a few small questions you might be able to help me with. First off, keep in mind, I am a network packet newbie, but NOT a newbie coder. So, this will be a crash course for my in packet disassembling :)

What info can be grabbed from the EQ packets without using decryption. I don't want it get into the hastles of descryption becuase I will need to make things work on multiable platforms. There is a simular tool out there avaiable from magelo.com. But, that tool ONLY updates there site. I just need to grab the following data, name, level, class, race and guild. (For people with multiable guilds) The tool on magelo.com handles the entire char inventory, which I don't need.

Are they using some form of decryption or is this basic info avaiable without it ?

Any help is greatly appericated.

high_jeeves
06-23-2002, 07:31 AM
name, level, class, race and guild.

Is all encrypted data. Items are not... thats why magelo works.

The following packets are encrypted, take a look in everquest.h to get a good idea of what you will be able to see, and what you wont:

NewSpawn
ZoneSpawns
CharProfile

--Jeeves

Ratt
06-23-2002, 09:59 AM
Originally posted by frizzo
I have been using seq for a while now on and off, and started thinking about a way to make our guilds website more dynamic. Basicly, automatic char updates.

I started digging around in the seq code, and have a few small questions you might be able to help me with. First off, keep in mind, I am a network packet newbie, but NOT a newbie coder. So, this will be a crash course for my in packet disassembling :)