PDA

View Full Version : Session Management Error

Wolffe
12-30-2001, 11:57 PM
i get this error when it starts but it still loads:

Session Management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed.

After this message ShowEQ Loads but will not do anything but show blank maps, also it doesnt seem to be recieving packets, i have my IP in the showeq.conf but i am pretty sure the error above is holding me back ( i could most definitly be wrong)

Any help at all is greatly appreciated

Yendor
12-31-2001, 12:11 AM
While an error, I do not believe it effects showeq in any way. I used to know more about that when I was an X11 programmer... but that seems a lifetime ago.

Your error sounds as if packets aren't getting to your linux machine. Either you are not running as root, or your machine isn't seeing packets going to your EQ machine (ie they aren't on a shared network media).

Just my guess.

Wolffe
12-31-2001, 12:14 AM
Hmm, so i am still at the same problem of it not finding the datastream for EQ.

Oh well i am still stumped. I appreciate the info on that error though. Any suggestions on where to go next with my current problem?

thanks again

Yendor
12-31-2001, 12:19 AM
Heh. I edited my message on you, check it now.

Wolffe
12-31-2001, 01:00 AM
LoL, Thanks =)

Ok, maybe its late, or maybe i am just stupid. I believe they are on shared network media, let me give you a brief rundown on my setup:

Cable Modem attached to Linksys switch attached to 5 port hub, my Linux box and my EQclient box are attached to the hub. I can ping my eq box from my linux box.

Also I am running showeq as root.

So am I just stupid?

Prolly so LoL... Beat ya to the punch.

So as always... Any help is appreciated :D

Stryke
02-02-2002, 04:52 PM
It looks like I'm getting the same error message when trying to run showeq. The full text of the error is: