PDA

View Full Version : Dev tool of choice for SEQ?

cmore
01-02-2002, 11:18 AM
I have been working with linux for a couple months now and have played with the command-line GCC compiler. Although professionally a programer, I only have experience on M$ platforms in xbase, MSSQL, and some other odds and ends.

I was going to play with the SEQ code to learn more about cpp.

Any reccomendations on dev environments (linux based)? I was hoping for a GUI project manager/code editor/debugger. Is there one that will gracefully open up the SEQ project as is?

Thanks in advance for your time. It is much appreciated.

high_jeeves
01-02-2002, 11:27 AM
Although I have never tried it with ShowEQ, you might want to give KDevelop a try (www.kdevelop.org).

casey
01-02-2002, 12:03 PM
tools i use:

vi - editing code
emacs - editing code (rarely)
automake - easier than writing makefiles
autconf - turn those makefile templates into makefiles
gdb - debugging
ddd - debugging (since i dont know all the gdb commands and i'm lazy, this helps a lot)
cvs - version control
(lots of debian tools) - packaging up code/binaries

i generally dont call gcc/g++ directly, except on very small projects (single source file, etc), since automake/autoconf make it trivial to generate makefiles for you.

my dev environment consists of a couple eterms, usually 3 for editing code, and one to run make, and mozilla window or two to reference documentation.

heres a pic of my dev desktop in a rather cluttered state.
http://www.ece.utexas.edu/~webster/desktopss.jpg

cmore
01-02-2002, 04:24 PM