PDA

View Full Version : Put Zaphod's Newbie Guide in CVS?

PawnOrc
01-03-2002, 12:51 PM
That guide by Zaphod is the best thing I have ever seen. Should it go in the CVS instead of Ratt's older one? Ratt's is out of date I think now with all the compiler changes, qt, etc. Just a thought.

Edit: Maybe update Z's guide to include the now compiled rpm of qt.

KennySP
01-03-2002, 12:54 PM
There are a couple of patches that I have submitted to make things easier, one was included this morning, the other is listed under patches.

Might also want to look at them for a bit of help on getting ShowEQ work as an alternative.

As for putting Zaphod's newbie guide in, put up a diff and submit it =)

KennySP

PawnOrc
01-03-2002, 01:30 PM
I am a newbie. I will look over the information and see if I can figure it out. If I am too stupid to figure it out I hope a more expereinced soul will do it. Half the questions I am reading are answered in Z's newbie guide. It is worth the time of the expereinced people if only to help with the load.

KennySP
01-03-2002, 01:45 PM
Actually, I guess you were talking about the INSTALL.newbies file. I will put together a diff with a more uptodate install guide tonight (Hopefully)

Watch this space for a patch.

KennySP

PawnOrc
01-03-2002, 03:16 PM
I may not know how to make a diff yet but I can do some grunt work for you. Here is a cut and paste of Z's various threads. You could use this as a start for a diff on the newbie install guide. I added notes about some of the links that may change. Copyright notice is left on.

Unless otherwise noted, all text is taken from:
http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=70

RedHat 7.1 & 7.2 users guide.

ShowEQ Install for newbies (RedHat 7.1/7.2 edition)
Copyright 2001 Zaphod ([email protected])
------------------------------------------------------------------------

=====

RedHat 7.1 users, do the following: