PDA

View Full Version : CVS Update Jan 16, 2003: ShowEQ 4.3.5



fee
01-16-2003, 12:23 PM
fee (floyd) 01/16/2003
-----------------------
ShowEQ 4.3.5
+ Applied mvern's patch to fix up the latest changes in the network code




WTG mvern for jumping on this and getting a patch out so fast!!!


Many of you are probably thinking, "FEE wtf are you smoking, cvs is down brother!" Well yeah anonymous cvs is down still so you will have to live with an excitingly simple files release :)

http://prdownloads.sourceforge.net/seq/showeq-4.3.5.tar.gz?download

We will attempt to provide more files releases in the future to easy distribution means. As an alternative to that link above you can access the Files section via the projects page (http://sourceforge.net/projects/seq/)


In case some of you have never userd the tar or gzip commands, you can extract the archive with the following:


tar xzvf showeq-4.3.5.tar.gz


Fee

Pigeon
01-16-2003, 01:05 PM
So, umm, is mvern a dev yet? :D

wtg mvern.

wizard
01-16-2003, 02:04 PM
Possible to have a diff posted while we are waiting for CVS to come back online.. i hate the tarballs personally..

veritechpilot
01-16-2003, 03:26 PM
Originally posted by fee
fee (floyd) 01/16/2003
-----------------------
ShowEQ 4.3.5
+ Applied mvern's patch to fix up the latest changes in the network code

Fee

Could someone Clarify.. Does this fix the January 15th patch or does this mean that the fix for the January 9th patch was added to the main codebase?

BTW: Thanks for all the hard work!
-Pilot

fryfrog
01-16-2003, 03:30 PM
this might be a good addition to add, it is supposed to keep the map from zooming way the hell out when some fake mob shows up way outside the map edge... credit to ummm... give me a sec to figure out who it was posted by :)



diff -u -r1.3 mapcore.h
--- mapcore.h 31 May 2002 21:49:28 -0000 1.3
+++ mapcore.h 6 Jan 2003 16:09:36 -0000
@@ -565,22 +565,22 @@
printf("in x: %i, in y: %i, max(%i,%i) Min(%i,%i)\n", x, y, m_maxX, m_maxY, m_minX, m_minY);
#endif /* MAP_DEBUG */

- if (x > m_maxX)
+ if (x > m_maxX && x < 2 * m_maxX)
{
m_maxX = x;
flag = true;
}
- if (y > m_maxY)
+ if (y > m_maxY && y < 2 * m_maxY)
{
m_maxY = y;
flag = true;
}
- if (x < m_minX)
+ if (x < m_minX && x > 2 * m_minX)
{
m_minX = x;
flag = true;
}
- if (y < m_minY)
+ if (y < m_minY && y > 2 * m_minY)
{
m_minY = y;
flag = true;

Dedpoet
01-16-2003, 03:30 PM
This fixes the January 15 patch.

fryfrog
01-16-2003, 03:31 PM
that was from ksmith, i did correct one error that was mentioned (and he acknolaged) where there was an X instead of a Y (or something).

curio
01-16-2003, 03:33 PM
Originally posted by fryfrog
this might be a good addition to add, it is supposed to keep the map from zooming way the hell out
[/code]

This didnt work for me when it was originally posted. I'd recommend some more testing before dropping it into CVS.

fryfrog
01-16-2003, 03:45 PM
humm, well i guess i never ran into a time when the map would have zoomed way the hell out then. my map stayed good the whole time i was using it with this patch BUT that is no proof of it working.

ksmith
01-16-2003, 03:55 PM
The scaling patch mentioned is here:

http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=521&perpage=15&pagenumber=2

I haven't finished testing different min/max values, so I haven't submitted a patch yet.

LordCrush
01-16-2003, 04:13 PM
/cheer mvern /cheer fee - thank you :)

Hobo
01-17-2003, 07:51 AM
Let me make sure I got this right...(it's been so damn long since I've had to use tar and/or gunzip commands.)



1. Download the file to your root/seq/showeq directory (or wherever you have SEQ installed).

2. Use the tar xzvf showeq-4.3.5.tar.gz command

3. Recompile in the usual manner

Is that correct or am I missing something?


Thanks!

Hobo

Hobo
01-17-2003, 08:01 AM
Hmm...just got to thinking some more...Maybe it should be extracted into the /seq/showeq/src directory instead of the /seq/showeq/ directory?


I'm at work this morning so I haven't been able to actually try anything. Just pondering the steps in my mind so I can be up and running as fast as possible when I get home today. :)


Hobo

Dedpoet
01-17-2003, 08:48 AM
This is a new source directory, so you want it to replace what you have in /seq/showeq, not what's in /usr/local/share/showeq.

When you untar the file, you'll get a whole new showeq directory, so this is how I did it:

Download the tar.gz into /seq
# cd /seq
# mv showeq showeq.old (backups are good)
# tar xvzf showeq-4.3.5.tar.gz
# cd showeq
# make -f Makefile.dist
# ./configure && make && make install

Keep in mind that I only have Qt 3.0.5 and Gcc 3.2, so I don't export any variables. You may need to export QTDIR, GCC, and GXX, depending on your setup.

jgorrell
01-17-2003, 08:54 AM
Yeah, just unpack it in the "seq" directory and it will go in "/seq/showeq/"

Also, when you get to the part where you do the following:

[]# make -f Makefile.dist
[]# ./configure
[]# make
[]# make install


Make sure you go into the "/seq/showeq/" directory or it wont work.

quackrabbit
01-17-2003, 08:54 AM
I have completed the patch for the spell and buff window issues as well as a minor correction for the time of day structure.

You can down load the patch here -->> http://sourceforge.net/tracker/index.php?func=detail&aid=669753&group_id=10131&atid=310131

To install, download spell.patch and then copy it to your /root/seq/src (or wherever your showeq/src path is) and type patch < spell.patch

Quack

Hobo
01-17-2003, 09:55 AM
Thanks guys. Appreciate the fast response.

fryfrog
01-17-2003, 10:03 AM
great patch i hope rabbit, compiling it now :)

quackrabbit
01-17-2003, 10:36 AM
Casey assures me that it's in cvs now, so it will be in the next release.

BTW, floyd pointed out that I goofed on some int vs uint definitions for the TimeOfDay. There are two files in my patch now, so make sure you are getting the newest one if you're seeing different times.

Sorry for those of you who had to compile twice.

QR.

fryfrog
01-17-2003, 10:40 AM
i did see the two, and got the one with the latest date/number. hope that was the right one :)

quackrabbit
01-17-2003, 10:46 AM
Yes!

http://sourceforge.net/tracker/download.php?group_id=10131&atid=310131&file_id=39881&aid=669753

is the correct file.

Raistlin
01-17-2003, 12:17 PM
*sigh* Ok, i've been in linux for ever and used to use Slackware exclusively...and I can honestly say that tarballs are no-longer the way to go..:)

CVS or Bust I say. :)

So, 2 questions:

1) Is CVS still down (I havn't tried today) and when will it be comming back up?
2) What patches from above are in CVS now? (I'm guessing that both the fix for the 1/15/03 EQ patch is there as well as the new patch for spells/etc...what about the fix for map scaling (or is that even still an issue? Has it been tested? etc.)

Ok, i'll give up asking stupid questions now...:)

Aurelius
01-17-2003, 01:07 PM
Yeppers, up at least for me. ))

DrgnWolf208
01-18-2003, 12:12 AM
Am I not understanding how the spell window is supposed to work? I applied the spell.patch and recompiled without incident, but all I get when I cast a spell is the caster's name (me), the time it was cast, and remaining time of 00:00:00. (I tried a wide variety of spells). What is the obvious thing I'm overlooking here? :)
Thanks!
DW208

DrgnWolf208
01-18-2003, 12:21 AM
A little more (possibly) useful information from the logged data:

WARNING: StartCastCode (7e41) (dataLen:22 != sizeof(startCastStruct):14)!
SPELL: You begin casting (null). Current Target is (0)
selfStartSpellCast - id = 0
WARNING: MemSpellCode (8241) (dataLen:14 != sizeof(memSpellStruct):18)!
Mana changed: -31 1509
SpellItem '(null)' finished.

-DW208

fgay trader
01-19-2003, 10:46 AM
Wolf, try posting this in a more appropriate forum like Help Desk, perhaps you'll get more replies there.

DrgnWolf208
01-19-2003, 02:07 PM
Yeah, sorry about that. Seemed natural to reply to the spell.patch messages.
Gomen
-dw208

cide
01-28-2003, 01:35 AM
QuackRabbit:


What exactly does your patch thingy do?

Its not included with .5 rite?


does it correct the Channel Message log thingy? where it says "UNKNOWN" has began casting (spell) time is (in seconds)?


-Nigel

quackrabbit
01-28-2003, 05:31 AM
My patch is now in CVS, just get a fresh copy and you'll be all set, no need to apply my patch after you get the latest CVS.

QR