PDA

View Full Version : noob network problem?!?

AlphaBeta
01-11-2002, 10:47 AM
Ok im a total linuix noob but after a few re-installs of redhat 7.2 and a few hours of pulling mu hair out I got showeq to compile and run. However I get noting on the GIU and in the terminal window I get ever now and then a bad packet crc or some such message but no maps or anything in the GUI.

I am able to ping the windows box from the linux box and I am starting showeq with no switches.

My network setup is follows: Cable modem to Cable router/switch (Hands out DHCP NAT'ed to a 10.0.0.X network. Off the router/switch hangs the windows and linux.

Just for my 2 cents programers write good code but don't write ver good doc's LOL... :p

Any help would be great...

Thanks in advance..

Mr Guy
01-11-2002, 11:09 AM
Alright it sounds to me like you don't have a prayer of this working the way it's written.

It sounds like your set up is:

Modem
||
SWITCH ==Linux 1 NIC (IP 192.*)
||
EQ (Win) 1 NIC (68.* or something along those lines)

In which case, the packets should never get seen by the Linux box, since the Switch will route them directly from Modem to EQ.

I'm not sure with one nic you can even set up NAT forwarding. The most desired way to rearrange is to buy a $10 NIC and pop it in your Linux box and change the config to:

Modem
||Nic 1
Linux
||Nic 2
SWITCH
||
EQ

And set up NAT and IPtables on the linux box.

AlphaBeta
01-11-2002, 11:17 AM
Well the setup is this:

Cable modem
||
Router/switch=lunix box
||
Windows 98 running EQ

The router is a linksys and is handing out DHCP to both box's with a NAT of 10.0.0.x

Should work no? If not if I put a hub in the mix from the router would that work? IN other words:

Cable modem
||
Router/switch
||
Hub=Linux
||
Windows 98

I really would like to avoid getting a second nic card if I could.

Yendor
01-11-2002, 11:20 AM