PDA

View Full Version : MySEQ and Delphi ?

Cordan
05-09-2003, 03:08 AM
Hi,

i am a total noob with C (besides i dont own that language at all). But since several years i love to code with Delphi.

So my question is:

Would it be possible (allowed) to try a delphi based client that connects to your server ?

domesticbeer
05-09-2003, 06:58 AM
As caveman would probably say sure if you want to code it. Not sure of his skill set but if you are planning on building off of what the server sends you then it shouldnt be that difficult if you know how to program with delphi.

cavemanbob
05-09-2003, 11:24 AM
What domesticbeer said. :)

I personally hate coding in pascal and don't have a copy of delphi, but there's no reason it can't be done.

Cordan
05-11-2003, 12:46 PM
Well i love coding in delphi ;) hehehe Coding in pascal since 4.0 till now delphi 7.0.

I will start to look into how you communicate to the server and start to "reanimate" my "mad"-delphi skills to see what i can make or not ;)

cavemanbob
05-11-2003, 03:49 PM
I can post a full desciption about the communication protocol later tonight if you like. It's not particularily complicated.

Cordan
05-12-2003, 03:53 AM
Would really appreciate it if you could post that =)

cavemanbob
05-13-2003, 12:50 AM
OK, here goes...

Communication protocol is as follows:
TCP/IP, blocking sockets

After connection when the client wants an update from the server, it sends a 1 byte message to the server, the actual value is unimportant (The c# client uses 0x23, but it means nothing)
After it receives the 1 byte packet it sends a big packet containing a number of smaller update packets representing the current snapshot of the bits of the eq memory. This packet can be up to 100000 bytes long.

The first thing in any update packet is a 32bit integer containing the number of subpackets in this update.