PDA

View Full Version : configure error



catinthelap
01-18-2002, 09:32 PM
I'm at a loss of even where to start looking for a fix to this problem. Any help would be appreciated.

<more stuff up here>
checking for gcc... gcc
checking whether the C compiler (gcc ) works... yes
checking whether the C compiler (gcc ) is a cross-compiler... no
checking whether we are using GNU C... yes
checking whether gcc accepts -g... yes
checking for c++... g++
checking whether the C++ compiler (g++ ) works... no
configure: error: installation or configuration problem: C++ compiler cannot create executables.

Yendor
01-18-2002, 10:15 PM
post the end of the config.log file

catinthelap
01-19-2002, 04:49 AM
Here is the end of my config.log file, hopefully it will provide some insight.

int main() {
gdImageCreate()
; return 0; }
configure:3598: checking for gdImagePng in -lgd
configure:3620: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lgd -lpcap -lpthread 1>&5
/usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lgd
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure: failed program was:
#line 3606 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error. */
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
#endif
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply. */
char gdImagePng();

int main() {
gdImagePng()
; return 0; }
configure:3644: checking for inflate in -lz
configure:3666: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lz -lpcap -lpthread 1>&5
configure:3697: checking how to run the C++ preprocessor
configure:3715: c++ -E conftest.C >/dev/null 2>conftest.out
configure:3740: checking for ANSI C header files
configure:3753: c++ -E conftest.C >/dev/null 2>conftest.out
configure:3823: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lz -lpcap -lpthread 1>&5
configure:3850: checking for deque.h
configure:3860: c++ -E conftest.C >/dev/null 2>conftest.out
configure:3889: checking for size_t
configure:3986: checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ
configure:4008: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lEQ -lz -lpcap -lpthread
1>&5

Yendor
01-19-2002, 10:11 AM
That's where the log ended?

If so then check whether you are out of disk space in any filesystem (filesystem where your are building seq and /tmp).

catinthelap
01-20-2002, 02:20 PM
I ended up upgrading to Mandrake 8.1 and making sure all the packages were added during the upgrade. Getting seq4 going from there was pretty straightforward. Thanks for the help though.

fryfrog
01-20-2002, 03:23 PM
although it works now, i am fairly certain your issue was not using gcc3 or gcc-3.0.1. of course, i could be wrong and maybe you actually renamed your gcc3 (rh) or gcc-3.0.1 (mdk).