PDA

View Full Version : Any action? Can I help?

jaws
02-07-2006, 01:52 PM
Hi there,

I messed around a bit with ShowEQ back in the day and downloaded the EQ2 packet sniffer code a few days ago. I've been messing with it, but it seems like it doesn't properly recognize the message types from the server like I'd expect.

Has there been a change in the message ids since the last post of source here?

I'm a software developer (C++), and I'd be interested in helping out on a SEQ2 project as well if this project is still underway?

Thanks.

Cryonic
02-07-2006, 08:07 PM
If there have been any patches since there was last an update here (quite some time ago) then odds are SOE has changed both the network code and the memory map code and so the sniffer can't recognize it.

jaws
02-08-2006, 08:36 AM
Yeah, it's weird. It sort of works - but it's like the packet opcodes have changed. I spent a little time trying to figure them out, but was looking for an easy way out with a source update :-).

Back to the drawing board, it looks like!!

Acid1789
02-08-2006, 03:20 PM
Right now the packets change prety much every day. SoE has their heads up their asses and released yet another live update with 328492734923755234 bugs. This is only likely to get worse in the coming weeks with the release of KoS.

I have a working version of Everdump, I can try to post it later (if I remember).

zeppelin
04-18-2006, 05:00 AM
Right now the packets change prety much every day. SoE has their heads up their asses and released yet another live update with 328492734923755234 bugs. This is only likely to get worse in the coming weeks with the release of KoS.

I have a working version of Everdump, I can try to post it later (if I remember).Hi, Is anyone out there? I have unsuccessfully tried to email Acid, and no one seems to be active here. I even tried to use the donate button he set up, but the email is dead. Is this a dead project? Did SOE finally do something that made it impractical to move ahead?