PDA

View Full Version : configure & gcc3



Froglok Forager
12-20-2001, 09:28 PM
I have all the gcc3 RPMs installed with my RedHat 7.2 system.

Did the symbolic links... /usr/bin/g++ to g++3 and /usr/bin/gcc to gcc3.

g++ --version and gcc --version both report 3.0.2.

Looking good.

configure says I don't have gcc 3 though.

So, I cut out the little C blurb from the configure file and compiled it myself. g++ test.cpp -o testitout

Running the GCC test program reports correctly that I have GCC 3.0.2. This is what configure is running, and it is looking for GCC > 3, so what the hell?

For now I commented out the GCC test in configure. Now I'm going to compile qt. Hope everything still works.


FF

Mr Guy
12-20-2001, 09:30 PM
Bah for the fourth time

http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=52

Froglok Forager
12-20-2001, 09:36 PM
i followed that thread. didn't do QT yet (compiling it now) but configure should have been happy with my GCC version.

i have all the RPMs installed and I did the links correctly!

heck i ran the little C program myself that configure is running and it reported the correct version!

FF

evalsegaw
12-20-2001, 10:17 PM
You can try moving /usr/bin/c++ to something else, then linking /usr/bin/c++ to g++3, like you did for the previous g++ and gcc. Worked for me.

Hoihoi
12-20-2001, 10:23 PM
just update your PATH if you have problems at configure when it uses the old version.
ie. export PATH=/usr/local/gcc3/bin:$PATH

check if it updated the PATH by type gcc and gcc -v

Froglok Forager
12-21-2001, 12:50 AM
that was it. copied /usr/bin/c++ to c++.old and linked g++ to c++. just configured fine.

thanks!

FF

Zaphod
12-21-2001, 03:05 AM
Please look at the following post: http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=70

The instructions within that post should not require you to uninstall anything nor change any symbolic links.

Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)