PDA

View Full Version : error: libEQ.a not found



Smooth
12-21-2001, 07:59 PM
Getting a weird error message on ./configure of showeq. I have followed all of the steps on Zaphod's post but when I do ./configure, I see:

configure: error: libEQ.a not found. Be sure libEQ.a is already installed in /usr/local/lib or /usr/lib

I have downloaded the correct libEQ.a and tried copying it in either directory and ./configure again but still this error message. Any ideas?

mars
12-21-2001, 09:36 PM
Being the greehorn that I am to Linux, I am having difficulty with this exact error. I have been searching books and the web for more information. I found that by runing ldconfig after copying libEQ.a to /usr/local/lib allowed the locate command to finally report success in finding libEQ.a. However, the ./configure still stops with this message. What am I missing, or what have I not done?

Zaphod
12-21-2001, 10:12 PM
Please include the last 5-10 lines of your config.log file so we can see more details.

Thanks and Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)

Smooth
12-21-2001, 10:43 PM
Last few lines of my ./configure

checking for gdbm_open in -lgdbm... yes
checking how to run the C++ preprocessor... c++ -E
checking for ANSI C header files... yes
checking for deque.h... yes
checking for size_t... yes
checking whether to build with decryption... yes
checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ... no
configure: error: libEQ.a not found. Be sure libEQ.a is already installed in /usr/local/lib or /usr/lib.

This is really frustrating me =(

Smooth

Zaphod
12-21-2001, 11:13 PM
When you run configure it creates a file called config.log, I need the last 5-10 lines of that file, not the output from configure.

You can easily get this by doing the following command:

$ tail -10 config.log

Thanks and Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)

mars
12-21-2001, 11:21 PM
I am using Slackware 8.0 (just re-installed fresh)

watching Smooths posts for further info

Smooth
12-21-2001, 11:24 PM
>tail -20 config.log
configure:4118: checking for size_t
configure:4152: checking whether to build with decryption
configure:4216: checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ
configure:4238: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lEQ -lz -lpthread -lgdbm -lz -lpcap 1>&5
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i386-redhat-linux/2.96/../../../libEQ.a(libEQ.o)(.eh_frame+0x11): undefined reference to `__gxx_personality_v0'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure: failed program was:
#line 4224 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error. */
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
#endif
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply. */
char ProcessPacket();

int main() {
ProcessPacket()
; return 0; }

Thanks =)

EQJoe
12-23-2001, 02:05 AM
The exact same thing happened to me, heres the bits you wanted

-----------------
configure:4118: checking for size_t
configure:4152: checking whether to build with decryption
configure:4216: checking for ProcessPacket in -lEQ
configure:4238: c++ -o conftest -g -O2 conftest.C -lEQ -lz -lpthread -lgdbm -lz -lpcap 1>&5
/usr/lib/gcc-lib/i586-mandrake-linux/2.96/../../../libEQ.a(libEQ.o)(.eh_frame+0x11): undefined reference to `__gxx_personality_v0'
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
configure: failed program was:
#line 4224 "configure"
#include "confdefs.h"
/* Override any gcc2 internal prototype to avoid an error. */
#ifdef __cplusplus
extern "C"
#endif
/* We use char because int might match the return type of a gcc2
builtin and then its argument prototype would still apply. */
char ProcessPacket();

int main() {
ProcessPacket()
; return 0; }
---------------------

Hope this helps

EQJoe

[edit: checked the post in front of me, it seems both files are the same, i used the command
tail -20 config.log > eqerrorconfig.log
to cap it]

JackDaRipper
12-23-2001, 11:38 AM
one thing to watch for is the version of gcc/g++ your using. Type:

g++ -v

if it says 2.96 or something similar that isnt 3.0+ thats probally your problem. I was having a similar error until i started thinking and relinked the gcc/g++ files the version 3 stuff rather than the older stuff.

Zaphod
12-23-2001, 01:32 PM
If your g++ 3.x has a name of g++3 do the following:


export CXX=g++3
export CC=gcc3


If your g++ has a name of g++-3 do the following:


export CXX=g++-3
export CC=gcc-3


If you're trying to use the new libEQ.a with ShowEQ 3.1.x, don't, it doesn't work with it, the API's of libEQ.a have changed.

Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)

Halb
12-24-2001, 06:07 AM
Most of us is unaware that the new version of seq (v4) has been moved to the showeq cvs tree. When you do a cvs co linux you are in fact pulling version 3 again. Version 3 is incompatible with the new libEQ.a and fails the function lookup check in the configure script, so it says its missing and bombs out. Do a cvs co showeq and try again and that should resolve the missing file problem.

SeqTester
12-25-2001, 01:21 PM
Actually Version 3 does work with the new libEQ.a, but I was also getting this error and I did the above fix...
export CXX=g++3
export CC=gcc3
... and it worked fine.
Thanks :cool:

Also where do I put my export commands so they run everytime in RedHat7.2?