PDA

View Full Version : Extracting permissions

occyv
04-20-2002, 09:51 PM
like all showeq noobs im just starting out. I installed Linux redhat 7.2, chose tom use Lilo to dualboot. now i understand the command lines and how to use them to autodownload showeq and install the rpm's. But my problem is the security setting in linux, i dont have permission to "open packages index using db3" and also I have no permissions at all with the root directory, i write to it or extract anything to it. It says im not the owner. This is fun learning a new OS just kind of frustrating atm. How can i give myself ownership permissions and open packages using db3 ? any help is appreciated, thanks in advance
Octavio

Cryonic
04-20-2002, 11:20 PM
Time for a noob to RTFM:

Dead tree format:
Running Linux
Linux in a Nutshell

Web docs:
www.linuxnewbie.org
www.redhat.com
www.linuxdocs.org

occyv
04-21-2002, 10:42 AM
well i have read most these documents and its nice info and all, but seems everything that has anything to do with linux and showeq is just a runaround. They all explain why linux does this or why it does that but they dont tell you how to actually change the permissions to allow access to root and db3. I guess ill continue Eversearch my new full time game )

high_jeeves
04-21-2002, 10:55 AM
You might want to consider re-reading the HOWTO.. the instructions are in black and white on how to do this... you just arent following them correctly...

note: you dont have to change permissions on anything..

--Jeeves

bonkersbobcat
04-21-2002, 01:11 PM
Ask youself, what user context am I operating in? If you can't can't get to the /root directory and you can't install software then you are probably not operating in an administrative context. In the windows world this would be the "administrator" account. In the Unix world it is the "root" account.

Either log in as "root", or better yet, log in with your user account and use the "su" command to change your security context