Thread: Track question

Question Track question

First, thank you to everyone that has helped make this program. It has made my EQ experience so much more enjoyable.

I'm an unemployed software engineer atm but when I'm not, I plan on contributing

Ok, on to my question.... (I searched before asking :P)

Does VI receive any information back in the data stream if I bring up the track window and / or if I use the track function itself? Bascially, I'm curious if I have to go through the motions of tracking something because veriant knows whether I'm really using 'Track'.

Thanks

(Account name goes here)
    (Server name here)

heh, I don't *know* if they get any indication when you are actually using ingame tracking. But I would imagine it would be easy to look for high level rangers/druids/bards with exceptionally low tracking skill. All it would take is a DB query
    "What you've just said is one of the most insanely, idiotic things i've ever heard. At no point in your rambling, incoherant response were you even close to anything that could be considered a rational thought. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having listened to it. I award you NO points, and may god have mercy on your soul."

I had a similar thought so I've maxed my track skill. Just curious if anyone has taken the time (I obviously have not) to examine the packet data going out to see if an event is registered when you A) Bring up the window, or (more importantly) B) Use the track window.

to examine the packet data going out to see if an event is registered when you A) Bring up the window, or (more importantly) B) Use the track window.
    There is no datapacket going out. All information needed to make the tracking skill work is already available to the client. Tracking is a simple UI to display mobs and their location and uses the same information ShowEQ "snifs" from the packet stream (those packets are stored in EQ's memory)