Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: A happy yet Sad day

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126

    A happy yet Sad day

    Yes seq is working (it seems)

    Sad that I have to figure out how to get qt 3.0.5 installed on my RH 7.2 :/

    I've been putting this off forever.

    Time to use the damn Search button

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Is there no easier way than to hunt down all these packages ? I'm worried that I'm going to fuck my 7.2 dependencies.....

    I have qt 2.3.2 installed at the moment but it doesn't work anymore with latest changes. :/

    Code:
    [root@localhost rhn-packages]# rpm --install qt-3.0.5-17.i386.rpm 
    error: failed dependencies:
    	fontconfig >= 0.0.1.020607.1058-4 is needed by qt-3.0.5-17
    	Xft >= 1.9.1 is needed by qt-3.0.5-17
    	libcups.so.2   is needed by qt-3.0.5-17
    	libfontconfig.so.1   is needed by qt-3.0.5-17
    	libpng12.so.0   is needed by qt-3.0.5-17
    	libXft.so.2   is needed by qt-3.0.5-17
    [root@localhost rhn-packages]#
    Do I have to bite the bullet and hunt all these guys down? /cry

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    246
    Here is what I put together from a few posts way back when they anounced you would some day need 3.0.5+.
    NONE of this is mine, I do not even remember who posted this, I think it was from 2 or 3 of them. I compiled these instructions for me to install QT3.0.6 and it worked 1st time.
    GoodLuck (This was on RedHat7.2BTW)

    __________________________________________________
    Grab a version of qt version 3.0.5 or greater.
    ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt...e-3.0.5.tar.gz
    or
    ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt...e-3.0.6.tar.gz
    or
    ftp://ftp.trolltech.com/qt/source/qt...e-3.1.1.tar.gz

    ( I have compiled and tested all 3 of these with SEQ, they all work fine. There is NO NOTICEABLE DIFFERNECE between any of them and their impact on SEQ )

    Unpack the source: tar -xzvf qt-x11-free-3.0.6.tar.gz

    Edit the qmake.conf in mkspecs/linux-g++/ of the source directory.
    The config for qmake no longer lives at configs/linux-g++-shared.
    The new location is mkspecs/linux-g++/qmake.conf . This is the same for all versions 3.0.5 through 3.1.1.

    For the change from gcc to gcc3 is on line 12

    For the changes from g++ to g++3 are on lines 27, 47 and 48.

    export QTDIR=(path to your source)
    ./configure -thread --prefix=/usr/lib/qt-3.0.6
    gmake
    gmake install (you will need to be root for this stage, use either /bin/su or sudo )

    At this point you will need to add your new qt directory ( /usr/lib/qt-3.0.6/lib ) to your /etc/ld.so.conf and run ldconfig. Running ldconfig with verbosity `ldconfig -v` will show you that the new lib directory has been added to the so.cache. (you will need to be root for this stage, use either /bin/su or sudo )

    From here normal SEQ instructions apply

    export CVSROOT=server:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq
    cvs login
    cvs checkout showeq
    cd showeq
    export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-3.0.6
    export PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
    export MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    export CXX=g++3
    export CC=gcc3
    make -f Makefile.dist
    ./configure
    make
    make install (you will need to be root for this stage, use either /bin/su or sudo )

    This is honestly as easy as I can make the instructions. I'm pretty sure that you could copy and paste the lines from here and have a working install when you finish.

    Add these to /etc/.profile
    export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-3.0.6
    export PATH=$QTDIR/bin:$PATH
    export MANPATH=$QTDIR/doc/man:$MANPATH
    export LD_LIBRARY_PATH=$QTDIR/lib:$LD_LIBRARY_PATH
    export CXX=g++3
    export CC=gcc3

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Thank you.

    Before I start...


    I downloaded 3.0.5 source and I'm wondering if I should move the directory tree to /usr/lib before compiling or will the final steps of the 'make install' etc... move / create that directory tree?

    Looking through the shell scripts now to see if I can figure it out.

    Thanks for your help.

    ---------- (edit) -----------

    I see from your post I overlooked the QTDIR and the PREFIX information. You had it all there already. /doh

    Thanks again.
    Last edited by Alfred; 04-18-2003 at 08:54 AM.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    246
    I put 3.0.6 on there, I hear its more stable than 3.0.5 and less CPU then 3.1.1.

    just my 2cp
    Last edited by SeqTester; 04-18-2003 at 09:07 AM.

  6. #6
    Registered User Mr. Suspicious's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Posts
    667

    Re: A happy yet Sad day

    Originally posted by Alfred
    Yes seq is working (it seems)

    Sad that I have to figure out how to get qt 3.0.5 installed on my RH 7.2 :/

    I've been putting this off forever.

    Time to use the damn Search button
    The INSTALL.newbies file in "patches section" (could anyone incorperate it in the CVS? It's only 4 months waiting for it) as usual holds all you need to know.
    Before asking anything read the pre-face section of http://www.smoothwall.org/download/p....9/doc.faq.pdf

    after you've read it, you know what to do next...




    "Stay alert! Trust noone! Keep your Lazers Handy! Have a nice day." -- Provided courtesy of the Computer. The Computer never lies.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Thanks.

    Didn't think to check the patches section :/

    Everything is working, it took most of the day to compile 3.0.5 and I have to admit that SEQ looks a lot cleaner and crisper with this version rather than the bundled 2.3.2. I'm assuming that is what accounts for the crisp look....

    Now to backtrack a second on my original problem. I want to better understand the RPM relationship / dependencies.

    I am assuming that the full QT 3.0.5 RPM has setup all of those dependencies BECAUSE, if you used all the apps and libraries then somewhere along the line you would need said dependencies. (gee makes sense) However, when I download the Source and compile it on my own, then apparently SEQ is only using a small portion of QT and all of those dependencies, which I never fixed, are not required / used.

    Is that true or does the QT source download have all the dependencies (list at the top) ?

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    8
    []# cd /seq/showeq
    []# make distclean
    []# cvs -dserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login
    []# cvs -z3 update
    []# cvs -dserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq logout
    []# export CC=gcc3
    []# export CXX=g++3
    []# export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-3.0.5
    []# make -f Makefile.dist
    []# ./configure
    []# make
    []# make install


    There is the cut and paste

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    8
    []# cd /seq/showeq
    []# make distclean
    []# cvs -dserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login
    []# cvs -z3 update
    []# cvs -dserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq logout
    []# export CC=gcc3
    []# export CXX=g++3
    []# export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-3.0.5
    []# make -f Makefile.dist
    []# ./configure
    []# make
    []# make install


    There is the cut and paste

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On