Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 23

Thread: (Bored + Old Drive == Gentoo Stage 1) ? USE Flags Known : Not known

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126

    (Bored + Old Drive == Gentoo Stage 1) ? USE Flags Known : Not known

    I'm bored and taking the plunge....

    I've got Unix experience, a few years actually, but just about zero with linux (other than SEQ) and I am hoping someone has written down what USE flags that you must have when starting from a stage one tar ball to make a happy SEQ machine.

    I did a quick search for gentoo & USE and then several other things but didn't notice anything useful.

    Any advice or flames are greatly appreciated.


    PS: this should take a couple of years to compile with my PII 300mhz hehe

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Hmm ok, I have to have the following:

    QT
    X
    x86


    Don't know if I need:

    truetype
    libg++ (or any of these...)

    Hmm still looking through the list....

    I can't remember if the Pentium II has the mmx extensions. Anyone remember (yeah to lazy to search for it)?

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    741
    Not exactly sure what you're asking. Is "USE Flags Known: Not known" an error that you are getting? At what point are you getting the error?

    For ShowEQ, you will in fact need truetype. You will also need lib-png, lib-jpg, cvs, and a couple other things. Try building Seq and it should be fairly obvious from the error messages what packages you're missing. If it isn't, post again and we should be able to help you out. I don't have access to my seq box this week to look up what I have installed, but the error messages should help you.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    171
    Since I have no idea what your familiarity with Gentoo is I'll throw out the obvious, take a look at /usr/portage/profiles/use.desc. I'm pretty sure the USE defaults are good for SEQ.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    9
    These are the use flags i used:
    X
    gtk
    alsa
    dvd
    tiff
    mmx
    sse
    qt
    jpeg
    mpeg
    pnp
    pcmcia
    samba
    zlib

    afterthis,

    need to emerge
    x
    qt
    tcpdump
    cvs


    that took care of everything.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Originally posted by PowerFailPhone
    These are the use flags i used:
    X
    gtk
    alsa
    dvd
    tiff
    mmx
    sse
    qt
    jpeg
    mpeg
    pnp
    pcmcia
    samba
    zlib

    afterthis,

    need to emerge
    x
    qt
    tcpdump
    cvs


    that took care of everything.
    Bless You!!!!

    /bow

    There are serveral that personally I don't need, like samba, pcmcia, sse, dvd...

    Thanks, I was looking for a sanity check and this helps.
    Last edited by Alfred; 04-23-2003 at 11:18 AM.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Originally posted by Dedpoet
    Not exactly sure what you're asking. Is "USE Flags Known: Not known" an error that you are getting? At what point are you getting the error?

    For ShowEQ, you will in fact need truetype. You will also need lib-png, lib-jpg, cvs, and a couple other things. Try building Seq and it should be fairly obvious from the error messages what packages you're missing. If it isn't, post again and we should be able to help you out. I don't have access to my seq box this week to look up what I have installed, but the error messages should help you.
    I was just being a dork and setting up an invalid trenary statement. Hey i was bored.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    741
    /bonk. I completely forgot that base Gentoo doesn't include libpcap. I don't think you actually need tcpdump to install Seq, but you do need libpcap, and since tcpdump depends on libpcap, that would install it for you. Having tcpdump never hurt anyone though anyway :-)

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    139
    emerge libpcap

    Worked for me~

    Pretty easy thing to do for a gentoo box for seq, is just:

    emerge kde

    Once that's done you should have everything needed to build seq besides libEQ.a and libpcap (see above.)

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    17
    Ugh, I wouldn't emerge kde.

    All you really need after the initial install is,

    emerge qt tcpdump

    then go grab showeq and libEQ.a.

    As someone just said, you don't really need tcpdump, just libpcap, but tcpdump is good to have in general.

    As far as USE flags, I just have "X gtk -gnome -kde qt alsa". You could probably do a -alsa instead if you didn't want sound.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Apr 2003
    Posts
    9
    heh emerge kde takes me well over 24 hours, where as emerge tcpdump/libpcap takes like 15 mins.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2002
    Posts
    139
    kde takes care of the qt parts and all associated parts that go with it.

    I must be one of the small handful of people here that uses my linux boxes for more then seq. My linux boxes are all pretty fast.

  13. #13
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Good info, thanks.


    Well I have myself in a real pickle. I used the gentoo instruction page and at the very beginning it mentions that you may not have to do anything about eth0 as it might have been configured automatically. Well, it seemed mine was found it and I could access the internet from the boot cd. I then figured it would take care of it during install just fine. Wrong! lol

    So now after all is said and done I do not have an ethernet driver for this step:

    Code:
    21.Final Network Configuration
    
    Add the names of any modules that are necessary for the proper
     functioning of your system to /etc/modules.autoload file (you 
    can also add any options you need to the same line.) When 
    Gentoo Linux boots, these modules will be automatically loaded. 
    Of particular importance is your ethernet card module, if you 
    happened to compile it as a module: 
    
    Code listing 21.1: /etc/modules.autoload
     
    This is assuming that you are using a 3com card. 
    Check /lib/modules/`uname -r`/kernel/drivers/net for your card. 
    3c59x
    I did look at this step and tried to figure out what to do but it wasn't obvious.

    Code:
    Code listing 21.2: Boot time Network Configuration
     
    # nano -w /etc/conf.d/net
    # rc-update add net.eth0 default

    I have a line:

    Code:
    iface_eth0="192.168.0.2 broadcast 192.168.0.255 netmask 255.255.255.0"
    Where do I find the configuration that actually points to my ethernet card driver?


    During bootup it simply says:

    Code:
    eth0: unknown interface: No such device
    I'm looking online at the gentoo site to figure out how to add the ethernet driver by hand etc.

    :/
    Last edited by Alfred; 04-24-2003 at 06:19 AM.

  14. #14
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    17
    You need to add the module for your ethernet card into your kernel. To find out which card you have, if you don't remember, do a:

    cat /proc/pci | grep Ethernet

    /proc/pci contains all of the plug and play devices on pci that it could find, even if it doesn't have modules for it. Then go to /usr/src/linux, do a make menuconfig and go to the network devices section. Make sure you add the ethernet driver to the kernel.

  15. #15
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2002
    Posts
    126
    Ok, I've now done that. But I notice when I do an :

    ifconfig -a


    I get the local loopback only
    lo Link encap:Local Loopback
    .....

    So.. either it didn't really add it to the kernel after I did make menuconfig and the recompile of the kernel (per the online instructions) or I have another step I'm missing. Once again I'm pooring over the online docs to see if I can find it.

    Thanks for any info.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On