Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 43

Thread: 11/05/03 EQLive breaks SEQ, discuss fixes here.

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    7
    Aye, that bug with mobs killing themself got some of the EP guilds angry last night. A guild that has wiped 5 times and is clearly unable to do any rings in poearth beat it and arbiter because the mobs killed themselves and they all got poearthb flags. Drama ensued, quite funny though.

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Posts
    87
    its not just Gefore cards playing up, my 9800pro went all strange after switching to windows mode.
    I believe in gun control. I use both hands

  3. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2002
    Posts
    18

    actually

    like all the pop mobs were killing themselves, and spawning the pp's but the pp's were not giving out flags.

    The really cute thing is in the patch message they said they had 'fixed avators' when in reality, they were more broken than ever.

    Thanks for wasting my guilds time the whole night :/
    Last edited by hhh; 11-06-2003 at 01:56 PM.

  4. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2
    Can anyone confirm the validity of the fix posted here? Thanks for the code btw, compiled it and ran it. I am just wondering if offsetting OpCodes by 2 will actualy do the trick? I haven't had a chance to try it yet, so would just like a quick confirmation =)

    Thanks
    "The road to success is lined with many tempting parking spaces"

    LLMerc

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Aug 2003
    Posts
    19
    yes. you can even grab the opcodes.h that was posted in this thread.

    Works pretty good atm with these 2 updates. I am noticing a little bit that isnt decoding correctly but nothing that has been causing a problem yet.

    --talorn

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    28
    Maybe I screwed something up then. I dropped the new opcodes.h into my src dir, did a rm src/packet.o, make, make install, and had plenty of problems.

    I'd have random spawns appear at extremems of the map and it even crashed on me, which I've never had do before.

    I'm performing a make clean, make, make install now and will see how well it performs when I get home.

  7. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    40
    some of the structs are not offset by 2. I think some havent changed.. so setting all of them by 2 works for the "skittles" but other structs I think are the same as before...

    anyways.. (still learning).. looking at packets and scratching head.. LOL

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    144
    Also, that neat new targeting ring doesn't work with radeon cards and some other situations.
    Works with my 9700 Pro just fine.

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    62
    Originally posted by bubbahlicious
    I just whipped up a little program to do the conversion of opcodes.h. Build it and run it in the same directory as showeq/src. It will create a file called 'opcodes.h.new':
    [...]
    The resultant opcodes.h seems to be working for me so far when I copy zaphod's decode and just run 'make' and 'make install'. I've only tested a few seconds of playtime so I can't really vouch for stability.
    Hmmm do you mean:
    Code:
    perl -i.bak -ple 's/(0x)([a-f\d]+)/$1.sprintf("%04x",hex($1.$2)+2)/eg' src/opcodes.h
    ;-)

    This command-line will fix the file in-place and leave the old one as "opcodes.h.bak". Working for me.

  10. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    62
    Originally posted by perlmonkey
    Working for me.
    Spoke too soon. The view kept zooming out, and eventually crashed. The last messages were:

    Code:
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=74, left=38, opcode=0x0024)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=119, left=38, opcode=0x0024)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=74, left=38, opcode=0x0024)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=197, left=26, opcode=0x003b)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=68, left=38, opcode=0x0024)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=74, left=38, opcode=0x0024)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=97, left=38, opcode=0x0024)
    error on zone-client: size > left (size=119, left=74, opcode=0x003b)
    WARNING: OP_ClientUpdate (0024) (dataLen: 74 != sizeof(playerSpawnPosStruct):18 or sizeof(playerSpawnSelfStruct):30)
    WARNING: OP_ClientUpdate (0024) (dataLen: 62250 != sizeof(playerSpawnPosStruct):18 or sizeof(playerSpawnSelfStruct):30)
    Segmentation fault
    If it's not obvious to someone why this is happening, I can probably hook up gdb and get a trace at some point....

    And BTW is there a vB code that forces fixed-width, but doesn't insert the "code:" text?

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    2
    Originally posted by karrde
    Maybe I screwed something up then. I dropped the new opcodes.h into my src dir, did a rm src/packet.o, make, make install, and had plenty of problems.

    I'd have random spawns appear at extremems of the map and it even crashed on me, which I've never had do before.

    I'm performing a make clean, make, make install now and will see how well it performs when I get home.
    Not sure if you have done this, but you also need to download the decode.cpp file and put it in the src folder =) It is indeed working for me, but I am not sure if it's flawless yet (hasn't crashed in an hour long session at least)
    "The road to success is lined with many tempting parking spaces"

    LLMerc

  12. #27
    Registered User lildr00d's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    125
    With the current opcodes and decode.cpp from above EQ seemed to work as expected for a few but as soon as I logged into PoFire problems started to happen..

    Decoded fine.. saw skittles and players.. Then for no apparent reason it detected a zone change. All the sudden the coolist thing I ever saw happened.. SEQ was cycleing thru all the maps so fast I could hardly keep it.. It reminded me of Wargames when the compter was playing itself at Tic Tac Toe..

    Oh and then after about 10 min of really kewl screens it crashed..

    Anyways it was cool for awhile to watch it!!!


    Code:
    Loading, Please Wait...	(Zone: 'unk_zone_30326')
    Zone: Zoning, Please Wait...	(Zone: 'unk_zone_30326')
    Loading Filter File: /usr/local/share/showeq/filters_unk_zone_30326.conf
    >> No such file: '/usr/local/share/showeq/filters_unk_zone_30326.conf', creating new one...
    Zone: ChangeCode: Server, Zone:unk_zone_30326
    Error opening map file '/usr/local/share/showeq/unk_zone_24084.map'!
    Can't find spawn point file /usr/local/share/showeq/unk_zone_24084.sp
    Loading, Please Wait...	(Zone: 'unk_zone_24084')
    Zone: Zoning, Please Wait...	(Zone: 'unk_zone_24084')
    Loading Filter File: /usr/local/share/showeq/filters_unk_zone_24084.conf
    >> No such file: '/usr/local/share/showeq/filters_unk_zone_24084.conf', creating new one...
    Zone: ChangeCode: Server, Zone:unk_zone_24084

    Code:
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    WARNING: OP_ZoneChange (0134) (dataLen:4 != sizeof(zoneChangeStruct):76)!
    Last edited by lildr00d; 11-07-2003 at 02:07 AM.

  13. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    78
    Doenst seem to be related specifically to PoF.

    Played there for about 2-3 hours last night part of which being some serious raiding..


    Worked find for me their.

    All in all its doing great.

    Keep up the good work

  14. #29
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    62
    Originally posted by perlmonkey
    Spoke too soon. The view kept zooming out, and eventually crashed.
    I realized I had patched opcodes.h, but not picked up the new decode.cpp. I did that, and all was well. I have not had the zooming-out problem again, but that happened in upper Guk, and I have not been back there. Perhaps only certain zones are seeing this problem?

  15. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    55
    @lildr00d: OP_ZoneChange is 0x136. Your Log shows that you used still the old value which was 0x134.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On