Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23

    ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    So, Showeq was working great on 12.04. I had a brain freeze and clicked on the update button to upgrade to 14. ShowEQ no longer compiles due to a lack of QT3 support from Ubuntu. I tried to use other QT3 packages but managed to bork the entire install.

    I then built another machine using 12.04. Managed to install all of the necessary packages (I think), since make Makefile.dist works and ./configure returns a sucess. However, when I try to run make, I receive 2 errors from the point.h file and a number of warnings. I know sure it has something to do with my installation, since it gives the same errors when I make previous versions.

    make all-recursive
    make[1]: Entering directory `/home/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.26'
    Making all in src
    make[2]: Entering directory `/home/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.26/src'
    c++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I.. -I/usr/include/qt3 -I. -DPKGDATADIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq/\" -I/usr/include/pcap -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -g -O2 -MT main.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/main.Tpo -c -o main.o main.cpp
    In file included from main.cpp:44:
    In file included from ./interface.h:33:
    In file included from ./spawnlist.h:46:
    ./seqlistview.h:38:15: warning: 'SEQListView::addColumn' hides overloaded
    virtual function [-Woverloaded-virtual]
    virtual int addColumn(const QString& label,
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qlistview.h:272:17: note: hidden overloaded virtual function
    'QListView::addColumn' declared here: type mismatch at 1st parameter
    ('const QIconSet &' vs 'const QString &')
    virtual int addColumn( const QIconSet& iconset, const QString &label...
    ^
    In file included from main.cpp:44:
    In file included from ./interface.h:33:
    In file included from ./spawnlist.h:47:
    In file included from ./spawnlistcommon.h:26:
    In file included from ./spawn.h:33:
    ./point.h:247:10: error: non-const lvalue reference to type 'QPoint' cannot bind
    to a temporary of type 'QPoint'
    return QPoint((centerPoint.x() - (int)(x() / ratio)),
    ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    ./point.h:254:10: error: non-const lvalue reference to type 'QPoint' cannot bind
    to a temporary of type 'QPoint'
    return QPoint(int(rint((centerPoint.x() - x()) * ratio)),
    ^~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
    In file included from main.cpp:44:
    In file included from ./interface.h:33:
    ./spawnlist.h:113:9: warning: 'SpawnList::mousePressEvent' hides overloaded
    virtual function [-Woverloaded-virtual]
    void mousePressEvent (int button, QListViewItem *litem, const QPoint ...
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qscrollview.h:222:11: note: hidden overloaded virtual function
    'QScrollView::mousePressEvent' declared here: different number of
    parameters (1 vs 4)
    void mousePressEvent( QMouseEvent * );
    ^
    In file included from main.cpp:44:
    In file included from ./interface.h:33:
    ./spawnlist.h:114:9: warning: 'SpawnList::mouseDoubleClickEvent' hides
    overloaded virtual function [-Woverloaded-virtual]
    void mouseDoubleClickEvent(QListViewItem *litem);
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qscrollview.h:224:11: note: hidden overloaded virtual function
    'QScrollView::mouseDoubleClickEvent' declared here: type mismatch at 1st
    parameter ('QMouseEvent *' vs 'QListViewItem *')
    void mouseDoubleClickEvent( QMouseEvent * );
    ^
    In file included from main.cpp:44:
    ./interface.h:332:9: warning: 'EQInterface::setDockEnabled' hides overloaded
    virtual functions [-Woverloaded-virtual]
    void setDockEnabled(QDockWindow* dw, bool enable);
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qmainwindow.h:84:18: note: hidden overloaded virtual function
    'QMainWindow::setDockEnabled' declared here: type mismatch at 1st
    parameter ('Qt:ock' vs 'QDockWindow *')
    virtual void setDockEnabled( Dock dock, bool enable );
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qmainwindow.h:87:18: note: hidden overloaded virtual function
    'QMainWindow::setDockEnabled' declared here: different number of
    parameters (3 vs 2)
    virtual void setDockEnabled( QDockWindow *tb, Dock dock, bool enable );
    ^
    In file included from main.cpp:30:
    In file included from /usr/include/qt3/qwindowsstyle.h:45:
    In file included from /usr/include/qt3/qcommonstyle.h:45:
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:110:10: warning: private field 'b1' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    bool b1,b2,b3; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:110:13: warning: private field 'b2' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    bool b1,b2,b3; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:110:16: warning: private field 'b3' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    bool b1,b2,b3; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:116:9: warning: private field 'i5' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    int i5, i6; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:116:13: warning: private field 'i6' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    int i5, i6; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:118:16: warning: private field 'p2' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    void *p1, *p2, *p3, *p4; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:118:21: warning: private field 'p3' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    void *p1, *p2, *p3, *p4; // reserved
    ^
    /usr/include/qt3/qstyle.h:118:26: warning: private field 'p4' is not used
    [-Wunused-private-field]
    void *p1, *p2, *p3, *p4; // reserved
    ^
    12 warnings and 2 errors generated.
    make[2]: *** [main.o] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.26/src'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.26'
    make: *** [all] Error 2

    Is there anyone who might be able to point me in the right direction, please?
    Last edited by Sky_Genie; 10-03-2014 at 01:30 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    Hi all. Would someone recommend a version other than Ubuntu, please?

    Thanks

  3. #3
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,008

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    CentOS installs right out of the box
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2003
    Posts
    23

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    Quote Originally Posted by BlueAdept View Post
    CentOS installs right out of the box
    Thanks. Does Ver 7 still support QT 3.3.8? Unubtu dropped it for 14 which was the start of my issues.

  5. #5
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,008

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    Not 100% sure. Im running 6.x but I havent played for about 6 months.
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Posts
    2

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    Radio folks to the rescue. They have the correct packages - http://debian.tryphon.eu/

    I didn't really keep track of what packages you need but do a
    # apt-cache search qt3

    obviously you need libqt3-mt, but there are a few others which you need. make will fail because it can't find qlist.h one of those packages satisfies this.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    57

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    i keep getting the Qt error on Linux mint 17.2 so gonna download CentOS 7 Everything iso and try that its only to get SEQ going anyway as i think ide prefer that to MYseq

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    56

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    I got it working on centOS after some messing around with it. Never could get ubuntu to work, seemed to have too much problems with wrong QT and not letting you use root or something.

  9. #9
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2,008

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    Yea the QT is very old. At least it was updated to QT4. It was under 3 until someone took the time to convert it. At least it still works with centOS without really any modifications. It is an old project without major developers. Thank goodness that we have some people that are still willing to help fix it after each patch. I would hate to see SEQ die. I have used it since late 1999 or early 2000. Even though it has been about 10 years since I really played. I still like helping with what I can.
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  10. #10
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    56

    Re: ShowEQ and Ubuntu

    Yea I hadn't played eq for 7 years or so and recently been messing around with it again. My linux experience is pretty much nil, but messing with showeq has forced a very minimal amount of learning on it which has been fun. I think the first time around (maybe 12 years ago?) I used Redhat 9 and it pretty much worked out of the box, but that old machine was long gone. This time around (within the last year) i dug out the old Redhat CD's but had trouble with driver support and all sorts of things getting that to run on any machine i had made within the last 10 years. After that I tried Ubuntu which worked fine as an OS, but couldn't get the QT sorted and, and it seemed like it wouldn't allow the "su" command even in command prompt. After some forum searching and seeing a post from BlueAdept i gave centOS a shot for attempt #3 and got it working with some minor updates and package installs. Many thanks to the folks that have kept it alive through all the patches over the years! Speaking of which looks like there was another patch today.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On