Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 16 to 30 of 136

Thread: RedHat 7.2 users (and possibly 7.1 if you can find the correct RPMS).

  1. #16
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5
    What am I doing wrong?

    [root@4-101-09 qt-2.3.2]# configure -release -shared -gif -xft -sm -system-libmng -system-zlib -system-libpng -system-jpeg -no-g++-exceptions -thread
    bash: configure: command not found
    [root@4-101-09 qt-2.3.2]#

    Everything was going nice and smooth, until this.
    Last edited by someNEWBIE; 12-22-2001 at 02:16 PM.
    Just some Newbie.
    You got to start somewhere.

  2. #17
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    15
    Try ./configure -release -shared -gif -xft -sm -system-libmng -system-zlib -system-libpng -system-jpeg -no-g++-exceptions -thread

    I think unless you tell the system specifically where to run a file from, it will only look at your PATH and try to run from those directories. If it can't find it in the PATH it will give you an error. So, add the ./ before configure

  3. #18
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5
    Thank you Rasthan. The . made the difference.
    Just some Newbie.
    You got to start somewhere.

  4. #19
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    183
    EQNutter,

    The c++, fortran, objective-c, and java front ends to gcc are all in seperate RPMs. Some of your missing files are from ones you probably did not install. (not sure if all of them, but certainly some of them).

  5. #20
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    39

    THX Stipen...:)

    Thx for that last little bit of help... Not saying it's fixed all my problems yet, but I am farther along now... just watching it compile now...

  6. #21
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    5
    post deleted, cause I am an idiot, who can't follow all the steps in the directions.

    Last edited by someNEWBIE; 12-22-2001 at 04:59 PM.
    Just some Newbie.
    You got to start somewhere.

  7. #22
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    9
    OK, checking the versions I have installed...

    binutils-2.11.92.0.12-7
    glibc-2.2.4-20
    glibc-common-2.2.4-20
    glibc-devel-2.2.4-20
    gcc3-3.0.1-3
    gcc3-c++-3.0.1-3
    libgcc-3.1-0.10
    libstdc++3-3.0.1-3
    libstdc++3-devel-3.0.1-3

    I think these are all that I was meant to need yet I am still getting the error on the qt-2.3.2 compile - anyone have any ideas please?

    Thanks.

  8. #23
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    9
    Exact error I am getting is:

    g+=3 -o ./moc mocgen.o qbuffer.o qcollection.o qcstring.o qdatastream.o qdatetime.o qgarray.o qgdict.o qglist.o qglobal.o qgvector.o qiodevice.o qregexp.o qstring.o qtextcodec.o qtextstream.o qutfcodec.o qfile_unix.o
    /usr/bin/ld: cannot find -lstdc++
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[2]: *** [moc] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory '/usr/local/qt-2.3.2/src/moc'
    make[1]: *** [src-moc] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/usr/local/qt-2.3.2'
    make: *** [init] Error 2

  9. #24
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    9
    Also, "ldconfig -p" produced these lines for libstdc++:

    libstdc++.so.3 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.3
    libstdc++.so.2.9 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.2.9
    libstdc++.so.2.8 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.2.8
    libstdc++.so.2.7.2 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.2.7.2
    libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.2-2.so.3
    libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2 (libc6) => /usr/lib/libstdc++-libc6.1-1.so.2

    I think this is more than I should have but I don't know what I need or how to get it into the correct state.

  10. #25
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    183
    Hmmmm. Looks like you have everything you should for qt, how about the cpp package, that should be there too and be v3.x.

    Also doesn't look like you cut and pasted enough of the error message as the line doesn't appear correct (starts with g+=3 rather than g++3, so maybe you typing it in by hand?) nor complete as it doesn't show what libraries its trying to link to.


    Well thats the best I can come up with off hand.

  11. #26
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2

    Unhappy error on configure

    First I would like to thank all those who post here in answer to everyone's questions, and now that I have you buttered up, here is my problem. Everything seems to work fine up until I try to configure seq. while it is configuring, I get the following error (included with the 5 lines above it)

    Checking for qt MOC....yes
    Checking if Qt compiles without flags....no
    checking for pthread_create in -lpthread....yes
    setting linux pthread compilation options
    checking for pcap_open_live in -lpcap....no
    configure: error: cannot find pcap_open_live in libcap

    configure halts and naturally, I cannot make after this. Does anyonw have a clue as to what I am doing wrong? Thanks for any help. For reference, I am installing on a fresh install of linux 7.1.

    EDIT: I am wondering in relation to this problem, do I need to do anything beyong DLing the libEQ.a and libEQ.a.md5...i.e. do i have to "install" them somehow? Sorry for asking dumb questions lol, I have been learning as I go along since I first starting using SEQ.
    Last edited by linuxnoob; 12-22-2001 at 10:12 PM.

  12. #27
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    39

    ./configure && make error

    I am typing this in so I my have a typo here and there...

    decode.o: In function `EQDecode::EQDecode(QObject*, char const*)':
    /root/showeq/src/decode.cpp:64: undefined reference to `InitializeLibEQ'
    decode.0: In function `EQDecode::EQDecode(QObject*, char const*)':
    collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
    make[2]: *** [showeq] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq'
    make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2


    Looks to me like it's not finding libEQ.a, so I placed copies in two other directories.

    /usr/local/share/showeq
    /root/showeq

    The first copy is in /usr/local/lib. All the directories have copies and I verified them using checksum.

    Thx Chuin

  13. #28
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    2

    Smile figured it out

    In relation to my above post, I worked the problem out. In case anybody has the same or similar, here is what I did to fix it.

    1. Downloaded the file libpcap-0.6.2-9.i386.rpm from

    ftp://ftp.rpmfind.net/linux/C/redhat...6/RedHat/RPMS/

    2. rpm -Uhv libpcap-0.6.2-9.i386.rpm

    3. then simply started over at the begining of teh installing/configurig Shoqeq step. Everything configured fine, and I have seq 4 up and running now.

    Thanks again for all the help on this site, and a wonderful job on teh new version.

  14. #29
    Registered User Zaphod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    648
    Chuin, you are attempting to link against an old libEQ.a.

    Read the Get libEQ.a step.

    Also, make sure you only have one copy of libEQ.a. If you have multiple versions in multiple directories it may attempt to link against the wrong one.

    Enjoy,
    Zaphod (dophaZ)
    Chief Software Engineer of the Apocalypse.
    http://showeq.doomed.to/
    SourceForge.net user: dohpaz.

    Personal thank you donations are now accepted.

  15. #30
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    9

    Wink

    Got it working but wiped my system and installed RH7.2 in order to do so.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On