Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2015
    Posts
    1

    Question Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    Greetings all,

    I'm attempting to compile the SVN trunk of ShowEQ and am having some difficulty unfortunately.

    I tried it on CentOS v6 x64 Minimal and Ubuntu v14.04.3 LTS but I was running into the same issue some others here faced with the QT Devel install not being recognized. My targeted deployment platform is VMWare Workstation 10, if that matters.

    I recall reading that CentOS "worked out of the box" at one point, however it doesn't appear to be now (or I may be retarded and am doing something incorrectly).

    Does anyone know a distro that will get SEQ compiled and running with minimal effort? I would greatly appreciate any help. Thanks in advance. Cheers!

  2. #2
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,893

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    I am about 95% sure it does work on CentOS 6. It may not work on CentOs 7. I havent tried. I would use a "desktop" or a full install and then add QT if necessary.
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  3. #3
    Did you SEQ today? BlueAdept's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    1,893

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    I do remember that you have to go through several extra steps to get it to work in VMWare environment.

    Does it compile? What is the error?
    Filters for ShowEQ can now be found here. filters-5xx-06-20-05.tar.gz

    ShowEQ file section is here. https://sourceforge.net/project/show...roup_id=10131#

    Famous Quotes:

    Ratt: WTF you talkin' about BA? (Ok.. that sounds like a bad combo of Diffrent Strokes and A-Team)

    Razzle: I showeq my wife

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2003
    Posts
    16

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    I am running CentOS 6.6 in VirtualBox no problems.

    Though tonight's patch seems to have broken it again.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    56

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    Works for me on CentOS 6, but i'm running on separate machine with a hub. I can't remember if i had to update a few packages but i think it was pretty minor.
    Worked out of the box on Redhat 9 like 10 years ago, but had issues getting that old distro to install on a modern machine. Had all kinds of problems with Ubuntu recently.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    45

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    I think if you do a centos 6 complete or software developer install, all you have to do is install libpcap-devel and it should compile.

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    I used Centos6 livedvd and had to install libpcap-devel , qt-developer , subversion and I think something else trivial.

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jul 2003
    Posts
    4

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    I used Centos6 livedvd and had to install libpcap-devel , qt3-developer , subversion , gcc-c++ and I think something else trivial.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    28

    Re: Easily Working Distro for ShowEQ?

    Arch required some adjustment. IIRC, had to install qt3 from AUR and manually change two symlinks in /usr/bin. Wasn't too bad to do, but the troubleshooting was a nightmare.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On