Results 1 to 13 of 13

Thread: trying to install showeq for Live

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    9

    trying to install showeq for Live

    I am trying to install showeq to use on Live. I did a fresh install of Linux Mint 19 because I am not good with Linux and I heard it already had some of the packages included. I am not on p99 but I followed this guide because it was simple: https://medium.com/@Packet99/install...8-81566001ec89

    I am trying to get version 5.13.10.96 working.

    All of the steps from the medium.com article worked well but at the end I could not get the 5220 patch working.

    When I did ./configure it completed but then when I typed make I get this:

    root@xavier-MS-7693:/home/xavier/Desktop/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.96# make
    make all-recursive
    make[1]: Entering directory '/home/xavier/Desktop/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.96'
    Making all in src
    make[2]: Entering directory '/home/xavier/Desktop/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.96/src'
    g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I.. -I/usr/local/qt3/include -I. -DPKGDATADIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq/\" -I/usr/include/pcap -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -g -O2 -MT main.o -MD -MP -MF .deps/main.Tpo -c -o main.o main.cpp
    In file included from interface.h:32:0,
    from main.cpp:44:
    everquest.h:2712:46: error: flexible array member in union
    struct bazaarSearchResponseStruct response[];
    ^
    Makefile:731: recipe for target 'main.o' failed
    make[2]: *** [main.o] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory '/home/xavier/Desktop/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.96/src'
    Makefile:452: recipe for target 'all-recursive' failed
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory '/home/xavier/Desktop/showeq/showeq-5.13.10.96'
    Makefile:384: recipe for target 'all' failed
    make: *** [all] Error 2

    ********

    Any recommendations for a Linux newby like myself? I tried on Ubuntu at first but got lost trying to install all the qt3 packages.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Nov 2002
    Posts
    44

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    CentOS 6.9 or 7.0 work basically out of the box. If you are still learning Linux, it'd be easiest to just start with one of those.

  3. #3
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    497

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    That particular issue has been around a while, and there's a post here somewhere about it. I'm not sure why it was never fixed. At any rate, I just updated trunk to include the fix. If you're comfortable pulling directly from SVN, you can grab it there.

    If not, you can edit src/everquest.h, go to line 2712, and change

    Code:
    struct bazaarSearchResponseStruct response[];
    to

    Code:
    struct bazaarSearchResponseStruct response[0];

    Otherwise, the fix will be included in the next tarball, which should be released tonight or tomorrow.


    Side note: if you'd prefer to use Ubuntu without the hassle of the QT3 packages, you could try the pre6.0 beta (which has been updated to use QT4). There isn't a tarball for it, so you'd have to get it directly from SVN.

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    9

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    Quote Originally Posted by Flatline View Post
    CentOS 6.9 or 7.0 work basically out of the box. If you are still learning Linux, it'd be easiest to just start with one of those.
    ok im on centos 6.9 now.

    downloaded and extracted showeq 5.13.10.96

    ./configure gave me:

    "checking for gcc... no"

    "checking for c++ ... no"

    "checking whether the C++ compiler works... no"

    "C++ compiler cannot create executables"

    Do I need to install anything?

  5. #5
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    497

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    Quote Originally Posted by kjkjkj2 View Post
    Do I need to install anything?
    Yes, there are a bunch of things that need installed. I don't have much experience with RPM-based systems, so I'm not sure what all the package names are for the packages you need. The INSTALL.newbies file in the tarball is out of date (based on FC2), but it might be a good start. The package names should be close to the CentOS package names at least.

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    9

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    Quote Originally Posted by cn187 View Post
    Yes, there are a bunch of things that need installed. I don't have much experience with RPM-based systems, so I'm not sure what all the package names are for the packages you need. The INSTALL.newbies file in the tarball is out of date (based on FC2), but it might be a good start. The package names should be close to the CentOS package names at least.
    ok in the GUI for centOS I went to software update and I see a lot of updates related to packages, libraries, C++ and more. So ill download those updates and see what happens.

    Thanks

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    9

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    the centos updates didnt seem to help any but these commands did:


    yum install svn
    yum install libtool
    yum install gcc-c++
    yum install qt qt-demos qt-designer
    yum install libpcap-devel
    yum updatenow

    ./configure and make and make install commands seem to have worked.

    showeq command gives me "cannot connect to X server :0.0"

    I think its related to permissions sudo and root but I dont know how to fix it. another thread suggested chmod u+s but im not sure what that means.

    do I need to run startx? when I do it says "xauth: file /root/.serverauth.16327 does not exist"
    Last edited by kjkjkj2; 05-20-2020 at 05:13 PM.

  8. #8
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    497

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    Do you already have X running and you're doing this from a terminal, or are you at the console with no X running?

    If the former, then try either disabling access control for X

    (as your user)
    Code:
    xhost +
    or specifying your user's Xauthority file

    (as root)
    Code:
    export XAUTHORITY=/home/your_username/.Xauthority

    If the latter, then yes, you need to start x, either with via startx or a display manager, or what have you.

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    9

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    I cannot get X to run. When I type startx I see:

    xauth: file /home/michael/.serverauth.16605 does not exist

    (EE)
    Fatal server error:
    (EE) Server is already active for display 0
    If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
    and start again.
    (EE)
    (EE)
    Please consult the CentOS support
    at https://wiki.centos.org/Documentation
    for help.
    (EE)

  10. #10
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    497

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    Quote Originally Posted by kjkjkj2 View Post
    (EE)
    Fatal server error:
    (EE) Server is already active for display 0
    If this server is no longer running, remove /tmp/.X0-lock
    and start again.
    This sounds like X is already running. Did you check your other virtual terminals? Assuming you're on tty1, try Alt-F2, Alt-F3, etc. until you find it or run out of F keys. Also, you could try

    Code:
    ps -ef |grep X
    to see if an X process is running. For example, mine gives

    Code:
    root      1048   788  3 May10 tty7     08:39:35 /usr/lib/xorg/Xorg :0 -seat seat0 -auth /var/run/lightdm/root/:0 -nolisten tcp vt7 -novtswitch
    Which shows that it's running on virtual terminal 7.

  11. #11
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2019
    Posts
    36

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    Can you do "sudo showeq" ? or just type in su and type in the admin password and then try to run it. Also depending on your adapter name, it might not find it if its not eth0, mine is em1. So when I run showeq, i type "showeq -i eml" while in an su command prompt. you can run an ifconfig and look at your adapter names on the left to see if you have an eth0 or em1.

  12. #12
    Registered User
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Posts
    9

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    when I first open a Terminal, when I type "sudo showeq" it says my username is not in the sudoers file and this incident will be reported.

    When i type su and my password it brings me to root and then type showeq..... now its working. It brings up the Show EQ GUI interface.

    I dont think i changed anything. Just walked away for a couple hours and came back and tried and it worked.

    Not sure if everything is working, because i've never used showeq before, so I dont know what its suppose to do, but at least I made progress. Ill let u know if I need anything else.

    Thanks

  13. #13
    Administrator
    Join Date
    Oct 2019
    Posts
    497

    Re: trying to install showeq for Live

    With the patch yesterday/today, the version you have won't work when they unlock the servers. We'll post a patch and a new tarball once they come up and we can find/verify the needed updates. But since you've worked through the build process, I don't expect you'll have any issues when we post the updates.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On