Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Strange error

  1. #1
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    22

    Strange error

    upon make i get this:

    [root@computar showeq]# make
    make all-recursive
    make[1]: Entering directory `/root/showeq'
    Making all in maps
    make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/maps'
    make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/maps'
    Making all in src
    make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/src'
    g++-3.0.1 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.. -I/root/qt3/include -I/usr/X11R6/include
    -DMAPDIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq\" -DLOGDIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq\" -I/usr/include/pcap
    -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1
    -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -c main.cpp
    In file included from /usr/include/g++-v3/bits/std_list.h:61,
    from /usr/include/g++-v3/list:31,
    from /root/qt3/include/qvaluelist.h:49,
    from /root/qt3/include/qmap.h:47,
    from /root/qt3/include/qmime.h:43,
    from /root/qt3/include/qevent.h:45,
    from /root/qt3/include/qobject.h:45,
    from /root/qt3/include/qwidget.h:43,
    from /root/qt3/include/qdesktopwidget.h:42,
    from /root/qt3/include/qapplication.h:42,
    from main.cpp:15:
    /usr/include/g++-v3/bits/stl_algobase.h: In function `int
    std::__lexicographical_compare_3way(_InputIter1, _InputIter1, _InputIter2,
    _InputIter2)':
    /usr/include/g++-v3/bits/stl_algobase.h:669: Internal error: Segmentation fault
    Please submit a full bug report,
    with preprocessed source if appropriate.
    See <URL:https://qa.mandrakesoft.com/> for instructions.
    make[2]: *** [main.o] Error 1
    make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
    make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq'
    make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2
    [root@computar showeq]#

    any sugestions gladly accepted, yes i have renamed libeq.h to libEQ.h.... i export everything correctly:

    export CC=gcc-3.0.1 ; export CXX=g++-3.0.1 ; export QTDIR=/root/qt3 (where i installed it)

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    22

    followup

    Well i took the easy way out and just copied the binary from my wives laptop (i installed it too) ... using same version of mandrake ... same qt version .... wonder whats up =x. Oh well, better pray i can keep compiling it on her laptop lol.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    235

    Error

    Nine times out of every ten, when you see this "Internal error: Segmentation fault" you have a hardware problem. Bad CPU, Bad Cache ram, Bad Ram, Bad Motherboard, etc.

  4. #4
    Developer Ratt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    533

    Re: followup

    Originally posted by Archaeopteryx
    Well i took the easy way out and just copied the binary from my wives laptop (i installed it too) ... using same version of mandrake ... same qt version .... wonder whats up =x. Oh well, better pray i can keep compiling it on her laptop lol.
    Not to hijack this thread, but you must live in Utah, yes?

    The problem with defending the purity of the English language is that English is about as pure as a cribhouse whore. We don't just borrow words; on occasion, English has pursued other languages down alleyways to beat them unconscious and riffle their pockets for new vocabulary.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    22

    LoL

    that's um ... wife's computer ... hehe typo

  6. #6
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jan 2002
    Posts
    741
    Are you overclocking by any chance? Just to back Ratt up, a seg fault during a compile is almost always a hardware problem. The most common one, at least here, is RAM. This can be caused by overclocking or by just having low quality RAM in general. If you are overclocking, go back to stock speed when you compile. If you have multiple sticks of RAM, try taking one or more out and trying again.

    This post is from the Gentoo forums, and is about compiling gcc, but it's the same idea:

    http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.p...ight=overclock

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    57
    Get rid of the French piece of crap Mandrake.
    -----------
    Zeppo

  8. #8
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Dec 2001
    Posts
    204

    Re: Re: followup

    Originally posted by Ratt
    Not to hijack this thread, but you must live in Utah, yes?

    Ooh! Ooh! Ooh! Is there a patch so I can have multiple "Wives" too? (Boy and I glad that MY wife doesn't read these messages!

  9. #9
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Oct 2002
    Posts
    22

    Yep Bad Ram

    Well, you guys were right. Bad ram ... took stick out decided to compile (I can always just copy binary if it fails :-) ), and it compiled with no problems. This stick must have gone bad over the years somehow; I have no idea how, as it has been working (and compiling showeq) all these years just fine.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On