Results 1 to 15 of 33

Thread: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    446

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    When I do it, I don't configure anything (just make sure it's set to capture on the correct network interface).

    I usually delete a bunch of text files from the EverQuest folder then start the patcher. When it starts downloading I click the button for "Start a new live capture", let it download a few files, then click it again to stop. Then I sort the list by "Source" and look for TCP packets going from my IP address to another.

    Example:
    Code:
    No.       Time            Source             Destination         Protocol   Info
    28        0.929513        192.168.1.2        64.37.129.43        TCP        51172 > afs3-fileserver [ACK] Seq=167 Ack=20329 Win=17424 Len=0
    I only let it run for a few seconds so the list is short and the only packets I have like that are going from my IP to 64.37.129.43. A DNS look-up shows it as a station.sony.com server. Also, in the "Info" column you should see something like "afs3-fileserver".

    So then I randomly right-click one of those lines in the list and select "Follow TCP Stream". A new window will open and right at the top you'll see something like this:
    Code:
    GET /patch/everquest/en/patch0/main/maps/neriaka.txt.gz HTTP/1.1
    User-Agent: SOEPatcher/curl
    Host: patch.everquest.com:7000
    Accept: */*
    Cache-Control:no-cache
    
    HTTP/1.1 200 OK
    Cache-Control: s-maxage=1800
    Content-Type: application/x-gzip
    Accept-Ranges: bytes
    ETag: "1292212449"
    Last-Modified: Wed, 13 Oct 2004 11:02:29 GMT
    Content-Length: 28906
    Date: Tue, 23 Jun 2009 03:18:07 GMT
    Server: lighttpd/1.4.20
    That's about all there is to it.
    Last edited by ieatacid; 06-22-2009 at 09:39 PM.

  2. #2
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    550

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    Sweet - that was enough. Thanks.

    With all of the patches the last few months, I wanted to verify that the patcher directory is still the same place it has been since you discovered it was back to where it was several years ago.

    It is

    Thanks again.

  3. #3
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    The Station Launcher (beta) uses a slightly different location which is also very useable:-

    Code:
    http://lp2.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/eq/en-trial/patch0/en-trial-main/eqstr_us.txt.gz
    The launcher also has some other interesting downloads, which might be of interest:-

    Code:
    http://lp2.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/eq/en-trial/filesets.xml
    ...which yields:-

    Code:
    <FileSet Name="en-trial-main" Description="EQ Trial English Main Fileset" Version="1755" Uri="http://lp2.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/eq/en-trial/patch0/en-trial-main/eq_en-trial-main_manifest.xml.gz" RemoteRootPath="http://lp2.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/eq/en-trial/patch0/en-trial-main"/>
    The eq_en-trial-main_manifest.xml.gz contains a file inventory, e.g:-

    Code:
    <SoePatcher Name="en-trial-main" Product="eq" Version="1755" xmlns="http://station.sony.com/lp2/updater/pitcher" xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance" xsi:schemaLocation="http://station.sony.com/lp2/updater/pitcher http://lpconfig.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/schemas/PitcherManifest.xsd">
      <File Name="eqstr_us.txt" CRC="619350942" Compression=".gz" DownloadSize="113898" MD5="C5A5A8B863A2AA6ECD85BB5E0D27192F" Size="359823" />
    <File Name="spells_us.txt" CRC="453702034" Compression=".gz" DownloadSize="566925" MD5="5BF0604147807B63A1980D452DB3718D" Size="5270165" />
    </SoePatcher>
    (Note: I've trimmed a fair amount out of that for space reasons...)

    All of those files can be wget'd by prepending the RemoteRootPath given in the filesets.xml.

    (There's also <Directory>...</Directory> tags to include where appropraite...)

  4. #4
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    8

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    Actually, I've found a much more interesting file...

    Code:
    http://lp2.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/eq/en/filesets.xml
    This one contains the filesets / manifest for all the EQ expansions.

    There's also a bundle list...

    Code:
    http://lp2.patch.station.sony.com:7000/patch/lp2/eq/bundles.xml
    Well, now I'm almost tempted to save SoE some bandwidth and write a local patch server for all my EQ installs...
    Last edited by sequser246; 06-23-2009 at 06:45 AM.

  5. #5
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    550

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    Update after 12-8-09 patch:

    Seems the patcher is now pulling files from:

    eq.patch.station.sony.com:80

    No more port 7000. And that was my search criteria in Wireshark trying to find it. No wonder why I was going insane.

  6. #6
    Developer
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    446

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    Looks like "patch0" changed to "patch1" also. This is what I'm using:

    Code:
    http://eq.patch.station.sony.com/patch/everquest/en/patch1/main/

  7. #7
    Registered User
    Join Date
    Jun 2003
    Posts
    550

    Re: Files from new patcher in different location than old?

    Thanks. I really need to add some of that into environmental variables in my .profile, since I have 3 or 4 scripts that do different things all that pulls info from the patcher.

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Posting Permissions

You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may post attachments
You may edit your posts
HTML code is Off
vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On