PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake 8.2 & ShowEQ No Sound on Alert Spawn!

CelestialOne
05-06-2002, 03:40 AM
Hi there,

Ok this is what is going on. I some how can not get the sound to work on Mandrake 8.2 on ShowEQ for the Alert Spawn. I did when to set up the ShowEQ.conf Setting for "1" for Audio since it was set to a "0" and I did try some of the stuff in one of the post out here but, for one. I am new to all this so I got a little confuse or didn't understand what was going on the the post.
So, any how, I did a wrote a Script named ( seqsounds.sh ). Also This is the command that the file have inside.

#!/bin/bash
/usr/bin/play /usr/share/sounds/ phone.wave &

That file was save in

/usr/bin

Now, I when to ShowEQ.conf file and replace some lines in there for the sound. The old line was,

"/usr/bin/esdplay /blah/blah &"

to this new line,

"/usr/local/bin/seqsound.sh"

Now, the thing is that I try to test it but, is not working for me. I go from root ( terminal ) and type,

chmod 755 seqsound.sh

But, I get this message.

chmod: failed to get attributes of `seqsounds.sh` : No such file or directory

I don't understand why it dose that like that. Any Idea anyone? :confused: Any tips of advice or tutorial to help me out here? Some sujestion?

This is my System spec.

K6-2 400Mhz
160MB Ram
10gig HDD
Sound Blaster Live Platium 5.1

Maybe that info will be able to help a bit with any help and advice ya might be able to give me.

Thanks In Advance! :D

Cryonic
05-06-2002, 10:41 AM
"No such file or directory", you must not be in the right directory:

chmod 755 /usr/local/bin/seqsound.sh

CelestialOne
05-06-2002, 11:02 AM
Hi,

Ok, so I notice now that I was in the wrong directiory, but still is not doing anything. It accept the command right now, but, I hear nothing, I will try to mess around with it a little long.

Question? what I put on the file, the command lines,

#!/bin/bash
/usr/bin/play /usr/share/sounds/phone.wave &