PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake 8.2

Alwayslost
05-08-2002, 02:18 PM
Any installation/compatibility issues here? Just getting started and planning to go with Mandrake 8.2

Just curious if I'm about to hit a minefield. :confused:

Mr. Suspicious
05-08-2002, 02:32 PM
You are about to hit a minefield.

Alwayslost
05-08-2002, 02:34 PM
Ouch, I hate that...

Anyone know of a place I can get 8.1 then? :rolleyes:

Mr. Suspicious
05-08-2002, 02:42 PM
hehe, sorry, but if you're not Linux savvy (like I am myself) you WILL hit several minefields.

I'm sure you'll find Mandrake at www.mandrake.com (not sure if Mandrake does distribute a free downloadable version) respectively Red Hat DOES distribute a free downloadable version 7.2, the ISO's of the two CD's needed can be downloaded from... www.redhat.com

myleftfoot
05-08-2002, 03:08 PM
I have it running on Mandrake 8.2 as I type. No problems here.

Then again, I've been a UNIX admin for seven years, and built all my own prerequisites...

Alwayslost
05-08-2002, 03:25 PM
Yes, Mandrake 8.2 is released as a 3 disk .ISO that I have already downloaded and burned... It really looks sweet and painless as far as installation goes.

I was going to do the install from scratch and follow the walkthrough for 8.1 and Substitute gcc-3.0.4 for the walkthroughs gcc-3.0.1. according to the rest of the thread that would solve the immediate issues...

But I may decide to go with 7.2 after all...

/sigh

Decisions....

Thanks for the feedback tho!

fryfrog
05-08-2002, 04:25 PM
don't try rh 7.3... yet :)

Alwayslost
05-10-2002, 11:34 AM
<step> BOOM!

<step> BOOM!

Yup. minefeild. :(

But I think I'm fighting some hardware issues also.

I got 8.2 to install, but it will only boot from a floppy... too weird, I must have something seriously wrong... If I try to boot to the HD I get a screen of repeating: 40 40 40 40

Where is a good place to get install help for Mand8.2 or RH7.2?