PDA

View Full Version : please dont flame me

RUCDOC
05-10-2002, 08:53 PM
Ok i have a problem i am a major newbie when it comes to linux, but not computers as a whole. I am trying to compile the source code but i need gcc 3 but i have 2.9.5. I have read several how tos and the offical instructions from gnu. My problem is I didn't understand one word of their explanation on how to do it. If someone could post either a link giveing me plain instructions or just tell me what to do I would be grateful. I would also like to state that no i have not spent hours pouring over previos post mainly becasue its like five flames then some one reffering to a explanation that I wouldn't understand anway. sorry for sounding rude, and thanks in advance for any help.

high_jeeves
05-10-2002, 09:20 PM
Here is the walkthrough.. 7 posts below yours.. it is as plain as a walkthrough gets for building this application.. it just isnt going to get any easier:

http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=400

--Jeeves

RUCDOC
05-10-2002, 09:55 PM
ok first i'd like to thank you for being nice in your post. second i think either im blind or the informationi need is not there it is a great howto for installing seq, unfortunatly it didn't help me understand how to install or compile the source code i have for gcc3.0.4. sorry to bug everyone with this crap, but I really want to use seq but im completely lost when it cost to linux. Thanks again.

Cryonic
05-10-2002, 10:21 PM
Why don't you just follow the how-to. Says exactly what you need to go from a scratch install to using SEQ.

RUCDOC
05-10-2002, 10:33 PM
ok once again i am following the one for seq I need to know how to instal GCC 3.0.4
To restate not seq GCC

high_jeeves
05-10-2002, 10:34 PM
You dont need to build gcc3.0.4... just follow the walkthrough.. install all the gcc packages it tells you to, and you will be fine... dont get too creative.. just follow the walkthrough..

--Jeeves

RUCDOC
05-10-2002, 10:37 PM