PDA

View Full Version : 2 computers being monitored at same time

ladybat
05-16-2002, 06:21 PM
I have been looking thru some of the posts I could find on this topic and was wondering if I could ask for a little help.

I run up to 7 accounts all at the same time.....I have always been happy simply using SEQ to monitor just oen eq client.....but there have been a few times Id like to be able to monitor a second eq session in a different zone.

Ive read thru some searchs but think Im not even perhaps searching for the right searhc ( lol)...

While it's not critical I would like on ocassion to be able to monitor 2 different computers in 2 different eq zones........

can someone help me out with a simple explanation on how to go about doing this? I am completly self taught on seq and linux and always get a bit "touchy" when it comes to modifying files unless I really know what I am doing.

Is it as easy as simply making some kind of modification to the conf file?

( btw I currently run seq from root)

if you dont want to help but know what phrase I should be searching for I would appreciate that help also...but if its simple to do I would appreciate your showing me a example.

Thank you kindly

Michelle

Dedpoet
05-16-2002, 07:48 PM
There are a couple ways to do this depending on the approach you want to take.

1) Run a second instance of seq on a separate Linux desktop. You can montior a different IP when you start the second session. You would need to switch between them though, so that may or may not suit your needs.

2) You can export your display to another Linux box or a windows box running an xserver emulator and watch it that way. How to do that is really beyond the reach of this board, but I know there are guys on here that do this. Casey and Ratt I think both do this. I think it's Casey that runs 4 seq sessions served off the same Linux box.