PDA

View Full Version : I need help optimizing linux (I previously posted this in the wrong forum... oops)

Smog
05-18-2002, 11:28 AM
I'm a linux novice, so here's your chance to show your Linux Uberness. The computer that I installed all this on is not blazing fast. Its a Pentium II 233mmx with 128MB of ram and a 2gig(maybe a little bigger) hard drive.

I can run ShowEQ, I can browse the net... that's all I want this box for so its cool. But I'd like to streamline it so that it won't be so laggy. Here is a list of Process's that are running when I have nothing open (besides Xwindows) If anyone could suggest Packages that I could uninstall to free up resources and just generally get my ShowEQ box to run better I would greatly appretiate it.

X
artsd
ATD
bdflush
cat
crond
cupsd
dcopserver
devfsd
dhcpcd
gpm
init
iplog (listed 5x)
kapm-idled
Kded
Kdeinit
Kdesktop
Kdm (listed 2x)
KevenTD
Kicker
Klauncher
Klogd
Knotify
Kreclaimd
KMserver
Ksoftirgd_cpu0
kswapd
Ksysguard
Ksysguard
Ksysguardd
Kupdated
Kwin
Kwrited
mdrecoveryd
medusa-idled
mingetty (listed 6x)
portmap
startkde
syslogd
XFS
Xinetd

Also, on a side note, but FAR less important. I shamba installed but when I try and browse my network to my windows computer it gives the error: Could not connect to host LocalHost
and yes, I know that I'm going to feel dumb when I figure this one out. Lol

P.S. I would have asked this question in a General Linux forum but last time I did that the suggestions I recieved messed up showeq by removing components it needed. I'm asking you guys because you know what I do and do not need to have installed. Thanks!

casey
05-18-2002, 08:50 PM
stop running kde :)

Pigeon
05-19-2002, 02:04 PM
Yeah, I'd have to discourage using KDE on a lower end machine... there are a multitude of options available, just look for 'em