PDA

View Full Version : make install error



Dr_Madd
06-01-2002, 12:19 PM
I compiled qt, ./configure of showeq worked fine.

But when I

make install everything seems to go fine untill

interface.cpp: In constructor 'EQInterface::EQInterface(QWidget*, const char*)':
interface.cpp:1620: Internal error: Segmentation fault
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <URL:https://qa.mandrakesoft.com/> for instructions.
make[1]: *** [interface.0] Error 1
make [1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make: *** [install-recursive] Error 1



Any help is appretiated.

S_B_R
06-01-2002, 01:04 PM
Looks like you left out the "make" step... you have to do that after ./configure and before make install...
./configure && make && make install

But there could be other problems.. I'm just going by what you posted here.

Dr_Madd
06-01-2002, 04:13 PM
I did forget the make part. So I did this,

rm config.cache
./configure && make && make install


It ran throught for a long time then got the following.
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
make[2]: leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make[`1]: leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
Making install in conf
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/conf'
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/conf
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
/bin/sh ../mkinstalldirs /usr/local/share/showeq
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 ./seqdef.xml /usr/local/share/showeq/seqdef.xml
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 ./seqpref.dtd /usr/local/share/showeq/seqpref.dtd
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/conf'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/conf'
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/showeq'
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
make[2]: Nothing to be done for 'install-data-am'
make[2[: leaving directory `/root/showeq'
make[1]: leaving directory `/root/showeq'

Help appretiated. Not too sure what this means.

I had seq up and running just fine, Then laptop froze up on me
and I had to power it down and back up, Then I got all kinds of crazy ass errors and the laptop wouldnt boot any more. So I stuck the disk in and re installed everything.

qt combiled,
showeq ./configures
Makes wont work.

Mr. Suspicious
06-01-2002, 05:19 PM
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-data-am'.
make[2]: leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make[`1]: leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
Making install in conf
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/conf'
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/conf
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
/bin/sh ../mkinstalldirs /usr/local/share/showeq
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 ./seqdef.xml /usr/local/share/showeq/seqdef.xml
/usr/bin/install -c -m 644 ./seqpref.dtd /usr/local/share/showeq/seqpref.dtd
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/conf'
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/conf'
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/showeq'
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `install-exec-am'.
make[2]: Nothing to be done for 'install-data-am'
make[2[: leaving directory `/root/showeq'
make[1]: leaving directory `/root/showeq'


Doesn't show an error message. Most likely the error message was shown at the line right before the first line you provided here.

Edit: Nother thing, you sure you did a



[]#make -f Makefile.dist


before doing ./configure?

high_jeeves
06-01-2002, 10:16 PM
Actually, the previous messages posted are generated by the make install... It looks like it built and installed fine to get here (unless it failed to build, but you still ran 'make install')...

Not sure exactly what your problem is here...

Dr_Madd
06-01-2002, 11:18 PM
Yes I did the make -f Makefile.dist


Just to be safe I did it again

Here is what I did

cd /root/showeq
make clean
make -f Makefile.dist

said everything was good to go.. Then I

rm config.cache
./configure && make && make install


Compiling now. Will post new error if any.

Is it possible I really fucked up some hardware or
anything when my Laptop took a dump on me last time?

It froze on me. So I rebooted it without shutting down properly.

Not sure what kind of effect that had but my laptop quit working properly.
Had to rebuild it.

Dr_Madd
06-02-2002, 01:32 AM
Ok I did what I previously posted.

Exact same error.


What should I do now?

Cryonic
06-02-2002, 02:31 AM
I don't see any errors listed in any of the posts after the first, just make entering and leaving directories as it should.

Mr. Suspicious
06-02-2002, 07:23 AM
Just a wild shot:

Try without the



rm config.cache


Edit: You also could just try running ShowEQ now, since the make install was succesfull

high_jeeves
06-02-2002, 07:53 AM
Yeah.. there are no error messages here.. that is a succesful install...

--Jeeves

Dr_Madd
06-02-2002, 06:36 PM
Ok will try it.


I dont remember it saying all that "nothing to be done" last time I installed seq. Will see if it works.

high_jeeves
06-02-2002, 06:40 PM
It did say those things last time also... are you meaning to tell me you posted here without even checking it, or trying to run it? Thats a new one...

--Jeeves

S_B_R
06-02-2002, 11:54 PM
/boggle :rolleyes:

Dr_Madd
06-04-2002, 02:33 PM
Tried to run ./showeq and it said the

bash: unknown msg. I was guessing this means it didnt make correctly ?

Cryonic
06-04-2002, 03:51 PM
and what directory were you in when you issued ./showeq? Unless the directory you were in contained showeq, then you will get a message regarding command not found.

TweedleDee
06-04-2002, 04:32 PM
Tried to run ./showeq and it said the bash: unknown msg. I was guessing this means it didnt make correctly ?

Please locate your nearest windows 98 cd - put it in your computer and fdisk > format > and reload...Linux nor SEQ is for you...

If this is an unacceptable solution whip it out and RTFM! It's IN THERE.

Dr_Madd
06-04-2002, 04:42 PM
I know im in the right directory.

I had SEQ up before but had to rebuild my machine. And now im having problems I didnt have before.

The ONLY rpm I am missing is,

BerkeleyDB-Devel

Would that cause this problem?

Also, Is it possible there was a problem with the make of QT ?

S_B_R
06-04-2002, 05:15 PM
Originally posted by Dr_Madd
I know im in the right directory.

I had SEQ up before but had to rebuild my machine. And now im having problems I didnt have before.

The ONLY rpm I am missing is,

BerkeleyDB-Devel

Would that cause this problem?

Also, Is it possible there was a problem with the make of QT ?

The command you need is in my sig. just copy and paste it. It will run for a while..... it's a common mistake.....

Dr_Madd
06-06-2002, 11:53 AM
( I posted this in the wrong thread, should have been posted here )

Ok here is the error,


works fine, evrerything great up untill the point where I make.



when I make ( after successfull ./configure )

It compiles and spits out bunch of stuff.. then at the end it says this

interface.cpp: In member function `void EQInterface::toggle_opt_ConSelect()':
interface.cpp:2636: Internal error: Segmentation fault
Please submit a full bug report,
with preproccessed source if appropriate.
See <URL:https://qa.mandrake.com/> for instructions.
make[2]: *** [interface.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2
[root@cpu showeq]#


Thank you in advance.

Zaphod
06-06-2002, 12:17 PM
This means that your compiler is blowing up. I'm not sure what version you are using. And you should include a few lines above the last error. You could be running out of memory during the compile, have an overly small swap partition, corrupt file somewhere, or just the build of the compiler could be bad. Dunno.

Enjoy,
Zaphod (dohpaZ)