PDA

View Full Version : install ? - RH 7.3

chrisr99
06-19-2002, 06:22 AM
I'm new to this and after about a week of playing around and reading these messages, I decided to post a few questions.

I did a fresh, custom install of RH 7.3 on a P2 233. I installed the kernel packages, and software development in addition to a few other packages.

I downloaded some of the required packages and attempted to install/upgrade the ones that the guide mentions. I had some trouble on some of them (specifically the gcc and cpp ones) and kept getting errors related to files already being installed and dependancies. So... I forced the installs (maybe not a good thing?) and ended up with multiple versions installed (maybe a good idea to start with a fresh install?).

My question is on the make error I receive when i try to make the qt package. I see the error about the g++3 command not found and believe that is because it is not finding the file it needs, possibly due to multiple versions?

I have included come cut/pastes which show what I have going on:

[root@redhat qt-2.3.2]# make
make[1]: Entering directory `/usr/lib/qt-2.3.2'
cd src/moc; make
make[2]: Entering directory `/usr/lib/qt-2.3.2/src/moc'
g++3 -c -I/usr/lib/qt-2.3.2/include -Wno-unused -Wno-parentheses -pipe -O2 -Wal
l -W -DQT_NO_CODECS -DQT_LITE_UNICODE -I../../include -I../tools -I. -o mocgen.o
mocgen.cpp
make[2]: g++3: Command not found
make[2]: *** [mocgen.o] Error 127
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/lib/qt-2.3.2/src/moc'
make[1]: *** [src-moc] Error 2
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/lib/qt-2.3.2'
make: *** [init] Error 2

[root@redhat qt-2.3.2]# rpm -qa | grep libstdc
libstdc++-3.1-6
compat-libstdc++-6.2-2.9.0.16
libstdc++-2.96-110
libstdc++-devel-2.96-110
libstdc++-3.1-1
libstdc++-devel-3.1-6

[root@redhat qt-2.3.2]# rpm -qa | grep gcc
gcc-2.96-110
gcc-c++-2.96-110
gcc-3.1-6
gcc-objc-2.96-110
gcc-c++-3.1-6
gcc-g77-2.96-110
libgcc-3.1-6

[root@redhat qt-2.3.2]# rpm -qa | grep cpp
cpp-2.96-110
cpp-3.1-6