PDA

View Full Version : A few problems

FirstBorn
07-17-2002, 08:28 PM
Pardon me if these are easy questions, I'm new to this.

I installed SEQ, according to the following instructions I found on the old message boards, on a Redhat 7.0 workstation installation on an old P5 233 with 128 meg of ram. The install went without a hitch and I have SEQ running with only a few problems.

1. All the Spawns, drops, ETC in my spawnlist are listed as "Unknown" with no information about HP, ETC. Although SEQ is reading the packets from my EQ system as I can watch my Character run around the map/grid.
2. SEQ seems to occasionally lock up the system randomly. Sometimes it runs for a few minutes then locks, other times for longer.

The installation instructions I followed to get where I am are below.

Thanks for any assistance anyone can offer.
FirstBorn

<Install instructions>
1. Install RedHat 7.0 on a newly formatted partition. The installer program will lead you through the process and everything in it is basically self-explanitory. If you have install problems that noone can answer on here, you can go to any Linux message board and get help if you need it. When the installer first gives you options of what to install (like there will be "Workstation", "Server", and "Custom") select Workstation. It doesn't matter if you use KDE or Gnome; if you have sufficient hard drive space just install both. Login as root after it's finished installing, and it will either automatically boot into X (graphical mode), or you can type the command startx in the console after you login.

2. Save the file http://libeq.trifocus.net/libeq/i386/linux/libEQ.a as /usr/lib/libEQ.a (with Netscape).
If trifocus is down download http://www.krisp.com/libEQ.a.gz as /usr/lib/libEQ.a.gz and do gunzip /usr/lib/libEQ.a.gz

3. Save the file ftp://ftp.redhat.com/pub/redhat/red...0.4-39.i386.rpm as /root/libpcap-0.4-39.rpm
(again with Netscape)

4. Open a console window.