PDA

View Full Version : SEQ crash, debug file?

cheese_poker
07-19-2002, 06:00 PM
Hi. Sorry if this sounds newbish, but I am new to Linux.

Every once in a while, SEQ will "crash". No error messages. Nothing. It just stops running like I did the File/Exit. I can relaunch it just fine and it will work again.

My question :

Is there information I can look at to get a hint of what is causing the spontaneous combustion? It's nothing disasterous, but kind of annoying. If I can fix it, I'd like to. :)

Thanks in advance.

Cryonic
07-19-2002, 08:49 PM
look for a file named core in the directory that you launched SEQ from. Then search the dev board for using a debugger (gdb I think) to extract the information from the core file and post it in the dev forum.

belgarath01
07-20-2002, 09:55 AM
every time my SeQ crashes like that is because some one camped in zone or some other thing like that a corpse disappearing ect..

EtherMage
07-21-2002, 10:19 AM
This kind of thing is the Linux equivalent of a GPF in Windows, minus the error messages. Here's what to do so you can get a decent picture of what happened to the devs so they can try and fix things:

1. Make sure you are running the latest ShowEQ. If you are even a few days old, a recent change might make your report useless.
2. Make sure you are set to produce 'core' files. To check this, type 'ulimit -c'. If that produces '0', put the line 'ulimit -c 10000' at the end of your /root/.profile file. If that file doesn't exist, just put that line there.
3. Have a policy of keeping a log of ShowEQ output. To do this, run ShowEQ as 'showeq 2>&1 | tee showeq.log'. This will pipe all output to the 'tee' command, which copies it both to the screen and to the log file. If you don't want the screen output, you can just use 'showeq >showeq.log 2>&1'.