PDA

View Full Version : Red Hat 8 upgrade problems...

Razzbuten
10-02-2002, 07:41 AM
I am a noob and like chasing Blackburrow Gnolls. I here people that run Showeq are asses. I wanna be an ass someday.

fryfrog
10-02-2002, 08:11 AM
try recompiling. you moved from a distro with gcc3 being optional to a distro based entirely on gcc3 (now called gcc). the old "gcc3" libraries are gone, now they are named like the old gcc2 libs on your old system.

basically, just re-compile qt and seq (you MIGHT be able to just recompile seq... but i seriously doubt it).

Razzbuten
10-02-2002, 08:34 AM
Can you further that?

Perhaps we can chat a bit...I am just now figuring out all the "compiling" instead of running the ole EXE for everything.

Just would like to have someone cinfirm what I am THINKING is actually gonna work.

high_jeeves
10-02-2002, 09:12 AM
BAAAAMMM!

Thats the sound of Razzbuten getting banned if ANY of that information is connected to his EQ account...

--Jeeves

fryfrog
10-02-2002, 10:31 AM
yeah, you might wanna go back and edit out that info. also, if you want to run bleeding edge distro you are going to have to be prepared to help yourself out. i doubt many of us who know what we are doing are using mdk or rh anymore :)

three-p-o
10-02-2002, 11:24 AM
Gentoo baby.. =p

fryfrog
10-02-2002, 12:48 PM
tell us what you wanna try, putting it in the forums might help someone else who is trying to get seq working in rh 8.0 :)

Razzbuten
10-02-2002, 01:07 PM
Well Not 100% sure. I tried to recompile and it said I was missing some libraries...I am at work right now so will be tonight before I can try it again.

fryfrog
10-02-2002, 01:14 PM
i would ASSUME (and i could be wrong...)

that you will need to recompile qt-2.3.2 and make SURE that the config file does specify "gcc3" or "g++3". you would then need to compile seq again, but w/o specifying "gcc3" or "g++3". don't forget all the -switches during the ./configure portion of qt.