PDA

View Full Version : Networking 101

PerpetualVice
10-23-2002, 02:52 AM
I'm completely new to both Linux and networking but I've been working on this for about a day and a half now and I've been able to download and compile showeq. Now its come down to the last problem and this one has been giving me some trouble. To avoid flames YES i have read the faqs, searched the board, searched other boards (linux.org, etc) and fiddled around with my network but I have STILL been unable to get thins working correctly. Currently my network setup is thus:

[Internet, (given a static IP by my apartment complex)]
||
[Hub, Hawking Technologies 4-port Mini Hub]
|| ||
[Linux box] [Win box]

I'm at a complete loss as to how to configure this and all my research has begot me was more confusion. Do i use IP masqueraiding? IP tables? Do I need a router?

If anyone could please help me, mail me or post here I would GREATLY appriciate it. Otherwise I'm doomed to fiddle endlessly.

Thanks

~PV~

PS. Regarding the hub i have the internet connection plugged into slot 1 which acts as an "uplink." Quite honestly I have no idea the pertinence of this. For now I am able to get on the internet and play eq but only one computer is connected at a time (depending on which i start up first). Also I am unable to ping either box from its counterpart.

whitewolf3399
10-23-2002, 06:41 AM
You neglect to mention just what kind of service is provided by your complex... DSL? Cable? How are you feeding that to the hub?

Just guessing from the info you've provided it sounds like you're using a modem (DSL or Cable). What you need is a router capable of NAT'ing the public static ip you're getting from your provide to a private address used by your home network.