PDA

View Full Version : SEQ Broken Since PoP, new seq and libeq no help ?



sevensoft
10-30-2002, 09:54 AM
I have RedHat 8.0 with two nics, IP masquerading to my win machine running EQ and I installed SEQ about a week before PoP came out, it worked fantastic. I was in love.

The day PoP came out, *nothing* worked. No screen position, no mobs, nothing. I figured no big deal I'll wait until the gurus here figure it out. I was so happy to see a new version of libEQ and SEQ, but it hasn't seemed to help *for me yet*. Here is what I did.

deleted old libEQ.a stuff.
downloaded the new libEQ.a into /usr/lib
checked the md5, looks good.

did a checkout from CVS of SEQ.
did the compile, make, make install etc

all went flawlessly.

started up showeq.
nothing. Still does not show anything, no map, no mobs, nothing.
Yes i have made sure i'm sniffing the right IP, but i've tried the other two ips involved just in case. :)

I'm looking for any advice. Do i need to delete the old SEQ stuff and try a completely fresh download and compile?

I also looked in the install.NEWBIE file and nothing different there, the only thing I had a small question about was the gcc version. Since I'm using redhat 8, i have gcc 3.2 and it is talking about versions prior to 3.1. I compiled with this configuration just fine with the last version of SEQ, do i need to back down to a different version of gcc for this version of SEQ? *Confused*

If you need the command line output from showeq or anything else I'll be glad to post it upon request. (i'm at work right now, otherwise i would have).

and yep, i'm a noob so flame on if you need to ;)

thx

z26o
10-30-2002, 10:30 AM
I followed basically the same steps and mine works fine. The only difference I see is that I did an "update -z3" rather than a checkout (co showeq) from cvs. I'm not sure if that will make a difference for you, but it's worth a try.

Gurus feel free to correct me, but I believe your ok with the gcc you have.

good luck with it!
-z-

Mr. Suspicious
10-30-2002, 10:36 AM
I also looked in the install.NEWBIE file and nothing different there, the only thing I had a small question about was the gcc version. Since I'm using redhat 8, i have gcc 3.2 and it is talking about versions prior to 3.1. I compiled with this configuration just fine with the last version of SEQ, do i need to back down to a different version of gcc for this version of SEQ? *Confused*


From the INSTALL.newbies section 1.5


1.5 NOTE TO USERS WITH A HIGHER VERSION OF gcc

This document assumes you have gcc3 and g++3 executable on your system
(as included in Red Hat 7.2). Depending on the distro (in other words:
anything other then Red Hat 7.2), which RPMs you used and the phase of
the moon, you may only have gcc<specified-version-number> or
g++<specified-version-number> executables.

Change everywhere in this document where it says gcc3 to gcc<version>
and g++3 to g++<version>

To see the version numbers for your installed compiler, please follow
the next steps:

- Open a console and type "gcc" then press the <TAB> key once or twice.
This will attempt to "auto complete" what you are typing. Pressing it
twice should list all the options you have.

Result:

[]# gcc
gcc gcc-3.1
[]#

Do NOT use plain gcc, you need at least gcc3 or a higher version. In this
example you'd use "gcc-3.1" and "g++-3.1" instead of the mentioned "gcc3"
and "g++3"

If you do not see any other versions of gcc then plain "gcc"on your
system, then you did not install all specified packages as mentioned
in step 1.2


So in your case you use "gcc3.2"

sevensoft
10-30-2002, 10:52 AM
update -z3
okies, i'm all for that :)

i may just bomb the entire directory and start fresh.
i never put anything custom into it because i only had it for a week so i don't care about losing any saved data

here is more of exactly what i did:

cd /usr/lib
deleted old libEQ.a

did the wget from the thread about the new libEQ :)
checked the md5, good to go

and the following is what i did (from the redhat howto thread)
----------------
cd /seq
export CVSROOT=:pserver:[email protected] :/cvsroo /seq
cvs login
*** (hit return at the password prompt) ***
cvs checkout showeq
cd showeq
make -f Makefile.dist
./configure
make
make install
----------------


no errors, and showeq runs showing new version and all, just no info showing.

sevensoft
10-30-2002, 10:57 AM
Originally posted by Mr. Suspicious


So in your case you use "gcc3.2"

When i did the gcc <tab><tab> (autocomplete)
it only came back with gcc and gccmakedep

but if i do gcc -v it tells me:
gcc version 3.2 20020903 (RedHat Linux 8.0 3.2-7)

so can i just leave it the way it is?
or do i need to do something different?

thx

z26o
10-30-2002, 11:26 AM
Edit of my original post.
Sorry I meant to say "cvs -z3 update" Not "update -z3"
Anyway it's in the doc's correctly. I'm just a tard! :o

-z-

Mr. Suspicious
10-30-2002, 12:07 PM
When i did the gcc <tab><tab> (autocomplete)
it only came back with gcc and gccmakedep

but if i do gcc -v it tells me:
gcc version 3.2 20020903 (RedHat Linux 8.0 3.2-7)

so can i just leave it the way it is?
or do i need to do something different?


Yes, you don't need to change the gcc lines nor export the gcc and g++ variables. Red Hat 8.0 is the easiest install of all, since it comes with gcc 3.2 installed (which can be called simply with gcc)

Hitman
10-30-2002, 05:13 PM
Try this:



cd /path/to/showeq
make distclean
cvs login
cvs co showeq
make -f Makefile.dist
./configure
make && make install

sevensoft
10-30-2002, 07:36 PM
WOOOOOT

That worked.
Great job and thank you.

If you get half a second, explain the make distclean.

thanks!

Dedpoet
10-31-2002, 08:46 AM
make distclean is a cleanup procedure. It removes old compiled files and clears out all the cached data to ensure you are starting completely from scratch.