PDA

View Full Version : Automatic Decode Key Loading?

Naki
11-04-2002, 06:57 PM
I am a newbie to seq and progamming, so if this sounds stupid my appologies. It seems that the new version of seq only decodes spawns only when you tell it to load a key file or input a specific key and you are required to use the "Load Session Key" option for it to update. How about make it automagically reload the session key when you remain in the zone? Perhaps make the sniffer code write the key file as "ssratemple:0xffffffffffff" for instance. So seq checks if (zone == keyfilezone) and continously load the key if you remain in the zone.

MisterSpock
11-04-2002, 07:01 PM
Maybe I misunderstood your post.

The key that we are speaking of is needed only once per zone. Re-loading the key while you stay in a given zone is pointless.

Naki
11-04-2002, 07:14 PM
hum.. odd thing is when i was using it it did not show respawns at all until i reloaded the key.

cheeze69
11-06-2002, 03:21 PM
I get what you're saying -- if you zone, check the "key history" and if that zone is already in there, use the stored key. This is a good idea and would allow you to only enter all the keys once whenever the encryption key is changed and then you're GTG. Having a site where people can input keys and then download an "all zones" list would be cool also.

The only problem is, though, that I don't know if SEQ can determine what zone you are *until* the key is entered. That information might be encrypted also.

If this is the case, then SEQ could try all of the keys in the "key history" file and if none of them work, then prompt for the new one. Whether or not SEQ can "know" if a key successfully worked or not is another story that I don't know the ending to.