PDA

View Full Version : Pointers to Legal Resources Needed

PawnOrc
11-14-2002, 01:58 PM
I am a retired intellectual property lawyer. I spent many, many years in the field. I don't run SEQ because it is too difficult for me, particularly now. I am enjoying these boards and the great ideas I see here. All that said ...

I have read enough here to know that most of you are not educated in the law or the corporate world of companies like SOE. The VAST majority of the "legal" stuff written here is of the nature of "intelligent amature." So ...

Can someone point me to web sites which describe the actual state of the Federal or California law covering the following:

Un-authorized scanning of system memory together with use or transmission of information gained through such scanning.

Un-authorized scanning of information storage units such as hard disks together with use or transmission of information gained through such scanning.

Thank you.

PS: For you circle jerks out there - I did search and read these boards. It was not helpful.

high_jeeves
11-14-2002, 02:15 PM
Take a look at www.cybercrime.gov for alot of info and links.

And this, specifically: http://www.cybercrime.gov/1030_new.html

Most of what is found at this link relates to the government, and how it may interact with private information. But there are some interesting cases described here which establish things about the 4th amendment and computer data. As well has how a hard-drive and files are considered as "containers" of information. While not directly applicable to private entities, I think it is fairly relevant.

edit: added a bit more info.

--Jeeves

PawnOrc
11-14-2002, 03:27 PM
This is good stuff. It is off point relative to the "private" dispute brewing between SOE and its customers, but it is a great start. From here I can get enough to take to Lexis.

Anyone else looking at case law? We could all work together.