PDA

View Full Version : Putting it into words.....

Ataal
11-14-2002, 05:12 PM
There have been other threads like the one I'm starting here, but I didn't want mine just becoming a 'top of page 3' type of post.

To start off, I'll give you some background. I work for a large software company in the IT department. I have my MSCE, A+, and have attended countless computer-related training courses all over the country from L.A. to Chicago ranging from W2k active directory courses to Scripting courses to Cisco courses to Unix/Linux courses. I have been in the industry for about 10 years. I don't consider myself to be a 'noob' to the computer world by any means.

There is one thing I know very little about, and that's programming, coding, call it what you will. It's not because I haven't tried, I took 2 years of programming in High School and have read a few books by ORielly. It just doesn't 'click'. I took 3 years of art in school also, still couldn't draw a stick figure to save my life. I can calculate quadratic equations in my head, but don't ask me who painted the melting clocks painting. People have talents in certain areas and lack talent in others.

When I first decided to try out SEQ, I had a lot of fun with it, it felt good that I was able to get it up and running with little to no learning curve.

However, with the recent changes, I feel like such a newb. I've read every single thread regarding the new sniffer programs(some of them twice), I've even tried to compile a few. But, it's way over my head, it's like reading greek.

So, for now, I've got a great map that shows me where I am in it and which direction I'm facing. With the new planes out, I was really, really hoping to study the spawns/pathing so I can be a better asset to the group again. I'm known for keeping my groups out of trouble, well until now. It was also really helping out with the changes that the beastlord class has been going through(my new main).