PDA

View Full Version : where can i get...

ubermage123
01-02-2003, 04:10 AM
i've never used linux in my life, but i have another comp i can put linux on to run this prog. it seems to be very useful for EQ playing, but i can't seem to find any free linux OSs... if anyone could plz send me an email about where i can get a linux OS and/or some info on exactly what features SEQ offers that would be great. again, i have never used linux so i dont know left from right, i've been using windows for 10 years now, and i know nothing else (i wish i could switch, but theres no other OSs as compatable... or able to play EQ =P )

send me an email with any info you can supply me, and plz dont flame me for being a loser, i know i need to learn about the other systems, even though im scared out of my mind... sure i can build a comp, pop in the win98 floppy, fdisk and format my HDD, then shove in my winxp CD and have it autoboot, select what i want, and off it goes... but i would have no idea how to do anything complicated, like run an OS from DOS and tell it how to install itself. thats a whole other ballfield, thanx in advance to anyone who can help

Aurelius
01-02-2003, 04:31 AM
Just to save you some grief I'm sure is simmering around here. I would recommend you do a search on the internet for 'linux' and you will find a ton of different 'free' versions. As a matter of fact I think 99% are free unless you count the boxed versions in stores but the same versions can be had visiting their websites. I use Mandrake version of linux myself. It was a hand-hold, easy setup. The installation was 98% automated. Others like the Red Hat version of linux. Still others have their personal flavors.