PDA

View Full Version : is this a "hub"?

pris
01-05-2003, 12:32 PM
hello, i've spent an hour or more researching to no avail. i was wondering if any recognizes the piece of hardware i'm using. i've lost the manual... i'm using a SoHo 8port 10mbps ethernet hub. it has an uplink, eight ports, and zero buttons. this is all the information i have on this. below is a link to a photo of the equipment (sorry for poor quality ). here is my question to anyone who recognizes this hub: is it a switch labeled a hub?

showeq loads and detects no everquest clients.
my setup is this.

adsl modem --> soho hub --> seq / eq

the diagram might be incorrect, i'm not good with that shit, but the adsl modem is plugged in uplink on the hub, and the eth0 device in linux is on promisc mode

i believe i'm either in error on my network configuration, or my hub is not really a hub.

i guess i'm asking is this hub a repeater or could it be a switch-based hub?

sorry if my terminology is not correct

http://ebay3.ipixmedia.com/abc/M28/_EBAY_ef532d85decd7138091a05a2830b4262/i-1.JPG
image of soho hub

p.s. to anyone reading this i appreciate and thanks for your time.
p.p.s. if my "hub" is the issue could anyone recommend an inexpensive hub that works with showeq.

fryfrog
01-05-2003, 02:17 PM
i don't recognize that hub at all.

my suggestion would be to goto the computer store and see if they have anything labeled a "hub" (that is not made by linksys). then inquire about their return policy. take it home, try it... if it doesn't work bring it back and say "this really isn't a true hub, k thx bye" and try another one.

BlueAdept
01-05-2003, 03:54 PM
Im not well versed with ADSL, but I know a lot of people have problems with them trying to set them up for SEQ.

A few questions:
1. Does you windows machine need software for the modem to connect? If it requires software, it may not work (ie AOL ADSL).

2. Do you know if your adsl modem is actually a router/modem or just a modem?