PDA

View Full Version : Gps

Nurseling
02-01-2003, 09:48 PM
First off I'm not a coder, but I know this is possible.
I would like to see an option or a diff that would allow showeq to read the log file from the mounted EQ directory.

Then a simple loc would give us a a cursor on the map. Telling us where we are. I know there is some code on the board that does something similiar but I would like to see something a little more straightforward.

HMmm any one want to guess the number of flames i shall receive.

Spook
02-01-2003, 11:32 PM

Let's assume for discussion that SEQ is in a working state as it was prior to 2003-28-01 patch.

What part of the map functionality does not fullfill your purpose ?

There is a map outline for most cases.

There is a block indicating you and (by default) a circle graphic that indicate which direction you are facing.

By default, there are a set of coordinates indicating your position at the top of the map as well as a set of coordinates of the cursor location all updated in real time.

Are you talking about some sort of offline thing where SEQ is not available then to read a log in at a later date in a sort of "playback" of where you were ?

... not getting the point here.

cbreaker
02-01-2003, 11:36 PM
I think he means for when either SEQ is broken or you can't sniff packets for some reason. SEQ could tail your log file, watch for when you do a /loc, and update your position on the map.

It's not a *terrible* idea but there's already some stuff out there that can do this and they run on Windows. I think they use the same .map files from SEQ.

cbreaker
02-01-2003, 11:40 PM
Actually there's a guy that just posted something that seems like it could do what you want to do.

http://seq.sourceforge.net/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2888

I don't have a copy of VC so I can't compile it and try it myself.

BOrg
02-02-2003, 12:37 AM