PDA

View Full Version : Define the terms please

Scorpius
02-15-2003, 01:24 PM
I have just a general knowledge question guys. If I get flamed, that's ok. I did use the search button to see if I could find the answer myself, but was unable to. Perhaps I didn't search properly. Anyway...

I DO know how to d/l the newest libEQ.a
I DO know how to run the CVS update

My question is, what are these? I mean, is the libEQ.a the actual ShowEQ program? The app that IS ShowEQ and the CVS update is the proceedure on how to install it? I'm still fairly new to Linux, and with the help of the forums here, I was able to install Linux and setup ShowEQ. But unfortunally I'm still grounded in that which is Microsoft Winbloz hell. Could someone please define the terms in verbiage that I could equate to a Windows platform?

Do I have the proper understanding as stated above correct? As in libEQ.a=ShowEQ program, CVS Update=Proceedure on HOW to install the new program (ShowEQ). Or am I completely off base (Which wouldn't suprise me at all)

Scorpius

*Flame suit on*
*Potion of fire resistance taken*
*Resist fire cast*

Walk into Naggy's Lair...

*sigh*

casey
02-15-2003, 01:38 PM
CVS is Concurrent Versioning System. It is a system to maintain code, in versioned states. Every version of showeq since it was imported to sf is in cvs. Every time any file is changed, the changes are recorded. You can checkout any version of a file you want.