PDA

View Full Version : What is the methodology used to determine the packet structure?

joojooga
03-03-2003, 03:25 PM
I would guess it all starts with a packet capture using something like Ethereal or Sniffer. But once you have the data, how would you go about determining where frames and headers begin and end? And what is the methodology used to decrypt the data in those if they are encrypted?

Poncho
03-03-2003, 04:16 PM
I'm in the process of learning this myself as this same exact post seems to trickle out everytime SEQ is not working for some amount of time...I think it was Ratt that hit the nail on the head in one of his replies..(sorry too lazy to find the actual thread)...but it went something like this:

Most of the responses in a nutshell just say to goto an empty zone and start doing shit. You'll notice changes and tendancies in your data. This should, in theory help you find what you are looking for.

Unfortunately I'm not good at this (yet) and cant help more than that. I also realize that there is really no way to put into words how to teach someone how to do this....Just a matter of "time behind the line" so to speak.

Poncho

fester
03-03-2003, 08:55 PM
Capture every packet.

Isolate the parts that change and the parts that stay the same.

If you determine that it is compressed or encrypted, look at the data a short while to see if it is clear what protocol encoded it. If it is not quickly clear, open a disassembler and look at the source code.

Once you know exactly how to decode the data, look at the unencoded data. Do the same action over and over again until you isolate struct values and their meanings. If your lazy, look at your disassembled output and obtain from it the size of all the elements of a struct (especially useful if there are very large structs like item and char profile structs.)

Really very easy, but can take time and considerable patience.

joojooga
03-03-2003, 10:40 PM