PDA

View Full Version : Want SEQ to work? Basic roadmap [unofficial] [non-expert]

uncleubb
03-06-2003, 04:28 PM
I'm going to go ahead and post this realizing the possibility that much of it is probably wrong because I have EXTREMELY limited knowledge of the details of networking or programming. But this may encourage one of two things: 1) people will correct (read: flame?) me and/or contribute more information or 2) people may have a starting place to look to find answers. I think that, perhaps, so many of the people on this project are such high-level technical thinkers and have such high level expertise that they don't realize just how basic many users' understanding is.

Furthermore, this is just a summary of what I have gathered from paying attention to those who post on this board. I have no experience doing any of these things. I am relatively savvy with computer setup, networking and operation and have some C programming experience from being a developer for an LPC MUD for several years, but any knowledge in computers that I have was acquired either as (i) a hobby or (ii) a method to pay for the schooling required for my career.

So, fundamentally:

You could contribute to the SEQ project in three main ways. 1) Submit code modifications for the SEQ program, 2) Analyze packet data so that the developers know where to have SEQ look for important data, or 3) Appreciate/donate $$ to those who take on these tasks and share their work.

Question: How do I contribute to the program itself?