PDA

View Full Version : Post-PoP dialup setup

Ataal
03-18-2003, 07:09 PM
I have been using DSL for about 2 years and have just moved to an area where high speed is not accessible. I searched for "dialup" "ics" etc... but everything I found was pre-PoP.

Since, as I understand it, now that the key is read from memory on the EQ box and with the help of a keysniffer program gets sent specifically to the SEQ box via a UDP port, there is now no need for udpecho for a Winxp->ICS->hub->SEQ setup correct?

My setup will be as follows:

Winxp using ICS, ICS gives SEQ box an IP. Both on a 5port Dlink hub. SEQ box uses IP given by ISP to EQ box as gateway(for internet access).

Theoretically, this should work. Does anyone have a similar setup? Any tricks in getting it to work that I should know about.

P.S. I really did search, I found no post-PoP threads, so please keep the flames down.

high_jeeves
03-18-2003, 07:53 PM
Uhh.. SEQ still needs to sniff the datastream...

--Jeeves

BlueAdept
03-18-2003, 08:08 PM
That will not work. The reason is that the EQ packets do not go past your windows box in that set up.

If you put the modem in your linux machine, that will work. Otherwise your pretty much SOL.

cryptorad
03-18-2003, 08:13 PM
You need to get both boxes on the data stream.

Hopefully you can find and purchase a cheap dial-up router that supports dial on demand and IP assignment. I know of a more expensive older one that can perform this function, Cisco 1005. It will require an external modem for this model of router and the particular version of the 1005 that had a regular serial connection instead of the WAN serial connection. Or.. you can get the common 1005 and a DB60 to DB25 (RS232) cable and connect that to your modem.

Here's a diagram: http://www.safety.net/inddn.html