PDA

View Full Version : Strange error



Archaeopteryx
05-20-2003, 08:21 PM
upon make i get this:

[root@computar showeq]# make
make all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/root/showeq'
Making all in maps
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/maps'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/maps'
Making all in src
make[2]: Entering directory `/root/showeq/src'
g++-3.0.1 -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.. -I/root/qt3/include -I/usr/X11R6/include
-DMAPDIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq\" -DLOGDIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq\" -I/usr/include/pcap
-D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1
-DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -c main.cpp
In file included from /usr/include/g++-v3/bits/std_list.h:61,
from /usr/include/g++-v3/list:31,
from /root/qt3/include/qvaluelist.h:49,
from /root/qt3/include/qmap.h:47,
from /root/qt3/include/qmime.h:43,
from /root/qt3/include/qevent.h:45,
from /root/qt3/include/qobject.h:45,
from /root/qt3/include/qwidget.h:43,
from /root/qt3/include/qdesktopwidget.h:42,
from /root/qt3/include/qapplication.h:42,
from main.cpp:15:
/usr/include/g++-v3/bits/stl_algobase.h: In function `int
std::__lexicographical_compare_3way(_InputIter1, _InputIter1, _InputIter2,
_InputIter2)':
/usr/include/g++-v3/bits/stl_algobase.h:669: Internal error: Segmentation fault
Please submit a full bug report,
with preprocessed source if appropriate.
See <URL:https://qa.mandrakesoft.com/> for instructions.
make[2]: *** [main.o] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/root/showeq'
make: *** [all-recursive-am] Error 2
[root@computar showeq]#

any sugestions gladly accepted, yes i have renamed libeq.h to libEQ.h.... i export everything correctly:

export CC=gcc-3.0.1 ; export CXX=g++-3.0.1 ; export QTDIR=/root/qt3 (where i installed it)

Archaeopteryx
05-20-2003, 09:36 PM
Well i took the easy way out and just copied the binary from my wives laptop (i installed it too) ... using same version of mandrake ... same qt version .... wonder whats up =x. Oh well, better pray i can keep compiling it on her laptop lol.

fester
05-20-2003, 10:18 PM
Nine times out of every ten, when you see this "Internal error: Segmentation fault" you have a hardware problem. Bad CPU, Bad Cache ram, Bad Ram, Bad Motherboard, etc.

Ratt
05-20-2003, 11:01 PM
Originally posted by Archaeopteryx
Well i took the easy way out and just copied the binary from my wives laptop (i installed it too) ... using same version of mandrake ... same qt version .... wonder whats up =x. Oh well, better pray i can keep compiling it on her laptop lol.

Not to hijack this thread, but you must live in Utah, yes?

:D

Archaeopteryx
05-20-2003, 11:12 PM
that's um ... wife's computer ... hehe typo

Dedpoet
05-21-2003, 08:24 AM
Are you overclocking by any chance? Just to back Ratt up, a seg fault during a compile is almost always a hardware problem. The most common one, at least here, is RAM. This can be caused by overclocking or by just having low quality RAM in general. If you are overclocking, go back to stock speed when you compile. If you have multiple sticks of RAM, try taking one or more out and trying again.

This post is from the Gentoo forums, and is about compiling gcc, but it's the same idea:

http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic.php?t=38843&highlight=overclock

Zeppo
05-21-2003, 04:35 PM
Get rid of the French piece of crap Mandrake.

RavenCT
05-21-2003, 06:47 PM
Originally posted by Ratt
Not to hijack this thread, but you must live in Utah, yes?

:D

Ooh! Ooh! Ooh! Is there a patch so I can have multiple "Wives" too? (Boy and I glad that MY wife doesn't read these messages! :D

Archaeopteryx
05-23-2003, 03:39 PM
Well, you guys were right. Bad ram ... took stick out decided to compile (I can always just copy binary if it fails :-) ), and it compiled with no problems. This stick must have gone bad over the years somehow; I have no idea how, as it has been working (and compiling showeq) all these years just fine.