PDA

View Full Version : awesome package

maximus
02-19-2004, 07:51 PM
I been playing EQ for about 2 years. I have been to this site numerous times in the last year, but never have tried to install it because I did not have a linux machine. I got my linux machine a couple of days ago and about 1/2 hour ago installed ShowEQ. This package is amazing and I will love to provide any type of feedback that would help continue this application. This is amazing, im lost for words.

the FAQ section is just superb with great installation notes that I could follow with no linux experience. Im studying linux as my job will be requiring me to learn, again great job.

Thanks

BlueAdept
02-20-2004, 01:25 AM
SEQ is neat, but linux is more fun.

I have a web server, ftp, telnet, firewall, dhcp server, email server, and seti running on mine. It is a lot more secure than win2k/xp will ever be. The gui will probably never be as easy as windows, but windows will never catch up to the reliability and security of linux.

I was pretty much in the same boat as you maximus. I started working at a job with a SCO server. I decided that I needed to refresh my unix skills and felt that linux was the right way to do it. That was about 4 - 5 years ago. SEQ was also a reason to do it. It wasnt quite as easy as it is now. It took me about a month of figuring stuff out before I sucessfully got it compiled on RH 6.1.

Congrats on a job well done, hopefully you will use it for more than just SEQ because linux has a lot to offer.

maximus
02-21-2004, 10:52 AM
Blue, No Im not going to use my linux machine for just Showeq. Linux is a lot of fun to play around with. I plan on using as a ftp server etc. Thanks for the reply. I have learned a lot about linux in the last couple of days with a lot more learning to do, but I am having fun doing it.

Mag@@
02-28-2004, 12:49 AM
Originally posted by BlueAdept
SEQ is neat, but linux is more fun.