PDA

View Full Version : I noticed something that disturbs me ...

uRit1u2CBBA=
03-17-2004, 09:30 PM
I was camping the Fabled JBoots last night. The mob that drops it is "The Fabled Drelzna". When she spawned, I didn't see #The_Fabled_Drelzna00 (with or without the #) like I expected to see, but I saw only Drelzna00.

So now it seems that the names of mobs can be masked from SEQ, yet still have to be unique per zone since that's how thier servers sees the names as well -- just changing the name that the client displays over the head of the mobs.

Anyone else see this? Have other comments about this?

BlueAdept
03-18-2004, 08:45 AM
Your right. Even though I wasnt near Drelzna, I noticed the spawn and death in the log. It was Drelzna00. I never saw Drelzna so I didnt know it had a different tag.

On our server the list is well over 48 hours long so I left.

BlueAdept
03-18-2004, 09:00 AM
Ill try to camp there for a while and capture packets. Im not very good at figuring out whats what though. I would strongly suggest that someone else also captures packets too that knows a little more about how to figure out what is what in the packets.

If the client displays "Fabled Drelzna", SEQ shows Drelzna and the logs show Drelzna00, they might have added an new field.

Are you sure that SEQ didnt show Drelzna, Fabled? Special mobs dont have to have the # in front of them and what is shown in the logs isnt always the name that is diplayed either (ie fire_beetle_01 is displayed as Fire Beetle).

uRit1u2CBBA=
03-18-2004, 02:46 PM
I'm sure of it.

I initially put "Fabled" in the search box to have the blinky-white-circle show when she spawned. Knowing a corpse was on the ground, I first noticed that there was no blinky.

Changing the search to Drelz, the blinking strated.

I also show the mob list and the spawn list next to each other, and both showed up as Drelzna00 (both Fabled and non-fabled version).

Freakyuno
03-18-2004, 05:52 PM