PDA

View Full Version : Quick fixes for 4/5 patch



codepig666
05-05-2004, 03:23 PM
2 quick mods to everquest.h and you are up and running..to lazy to do real fixes tho....


charProfileStruct: change the last unknown to
uint8_t unknown4380[5348];

spawnStruct: change the last unknown to
uint8_t unknown260[31];


I didn't even try to look at what the new stuff is...someone with more time on their hands can deal with it.


-piggy

tfnaaf
05-05-2004, 03:34 PM
where /how do you make the changes ?

Wois
05-05-2004, 03:58 PM
doesn't quite work, it does get the gps back though.but skittles are off the chart

anyone with a log of previous spawn structs take a look? :) haven't messed with seq in a while myself

codepig666
05-05-2004, 04:22 PM
I should have specified that this is for the newer (beta) version of showeq...

If you download the latest version and apply those 2 changes to everquest.h and make clean before you make, it DOES work.

--piggy

e@tme
05-05-2004, 04:23 PM
These quick fixes seem to work great for 5.0.7.

Thanks piggy

Hobo
05-05-2004, 04:33 PM
Sorry for my ignorance but do we just go into SEQ and edit that stuff or do we need to do a recompile?



Thanks,

Wois
05-05-2004, 04:39 PM
yeah yeah, just me going to fast (and the makefile missing dependencies hehe)

works fine now

e@tme
05-05-2004, 04:43 PM
you need to edit everquest.h /showeq/src/everquest.h

then you need to do all the compile stuff that you would normaly do :

cd /seq/showeq
make distclean
# cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login
# cvs -z3 update
# cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq logout
export CC=gcc
export CXX=g++
export QTDIR=/usr/lib/qt-3.0.5
make -f Makefile.dist
./configure && make && make install

**edit**

Thanks dedpoet. I have commented out the cvs details - dont do these when you are running your updates to everquest.h /grin

Hobo
05-05-2004, 04:51 PM
Got it. Thanks for the fast reply.

Ricochet
05-05-2004, 05:13 PM
This did indeed work for me. I'm on 5.0.0.6 though.

thank you sir.

Dedpoet
05-05-2004, 05:14 PM
Actually, don't do the cvs stuff. If you edit the file and then do a cvs download, you'll overwrite the changes you just made. Just do the compile again.

Export commands if you need them, make -f Makefile.dist, ./configure, make, make install.

Hobo
05-05-2004, 05:34 PM
Thanks Deadpoet. I was pretty sure I didn't need a cvs update so I just did the recompile. It's compiling as I type.

jaq68
05-05-2004, 05:46 PM
so is this for ShowEQ 4.3.21

or for the beta.

workhorse
05-05-2004, 05:55 PM
beta

eqhunter
05-05-2004, 06:01 PM
Originally posted by codepig666
2 quick mods to everquest.h and you are up and running..to lazy to do real fixes tho....


charProfileStruct: change the last unknown to
uint8_t unknown4380[5348];

spawnStruct: change the last unknown to
uint8_t unknown260[31];


I didn't even try to look at what the new stuff is...someone with more time on their hands can deal with it.


-piggy

ok.. Im not sure of what Im doing here.. I looking into the everquest.h file but didnt find the line "charProfileStruct: change the last unknown "
could someone please point it out to me?

thanks.

jaq68
05-05-2004, 06:06 PM
so is the non beta officially dead?

Do I need to use beta now?

I'v been running a old build of non beta for a long time now and it just broke today

workhorse
05-05-2004, 06:08 PM
The file is separated into different boldfaced sections.

Find the section:

charProfileStruct

scroll down until you see:

uint8_t unknown4380[other number here]

There is another number in the brackets after 4380, delete that number and type in [5348]

The spawnstruct is the same deal.

eqhunter
05-05-2004, 06:18 PM
ok I got this error.. Im sure it was me.
someone please let me know it would be great

make
[root@localhost showeq]# make
make all-recursive
make[1]: Entering directory `/seq/showeq'
Making all in maps
make[2]: Entering directory `/seq/showeq/maps'
make[2]: Nothing to be done for `all'.
make[2]: Leaving directory `/seq/showeq/maps'
Making all in src
make[2]: Entering directory `/seq/showeq/src'
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/uic mapicondialog.ui > ui_mapicondialog.h
Session management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/uic -impl ui_mapicondialog.h mapicondialog.ui > ui_mapicondialog.cpp
Session management error: Authentication Rejected, reason : None of the authentication protocols specified are supported and host-based authentication failed
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw packet.h -o m_packet.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw packetstream.h -o m_packetstream.cpp
./h2info.pl everquest.h s_everquest.h
Generating 's_everquest.h' from 'everquest.h'
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw packetinfo.h -o m_packetinfo.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnshell.h -o m_spawnshell.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnlist.h -o m_spawnlist.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spellshell.h -o m_spellshell.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spelllist.h -o m_spelllist.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw editor.h -o m_editor.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw interface.h -o m_interface.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw compass.h -o m_compass.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw map.h -o m_map.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw experiencelog.h -o m_experiencelog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw combatlog.h -o m_combatlog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw player.h -o m_player.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw skilllist.h -o m_skilllist.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw statlist.h -o m_statlist.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw filtermgr.h -o m_filtermgr.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw category.h -o m_category.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw compassframe.h -o m_compassframe.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw group.h -o m_group.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw guild.h -o m_guild.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw netdiag.h -o m_netdiag.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw logger.h -o m_logger.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw xmlpreferences.h -o m_xmlpreferences.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw seqwindow.h -o m_seqwindow.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw seqlistview.h -o m_seqlistview.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw zonemgr.h -o m_zonemgr.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnmonitor.h -o m_spawnmonitor.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnpointlist.h -o m_spawnpointlist.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnlistcommon.h -o m_spawnlistcommon.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnlist2.h -o m_spawnlist2.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw itemdb.h -o m_itemdb.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw datetimemgr.h -o m_datetimemgr.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw spawnlog.h -o m_spawnlog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw packetlog.h -o m_packetlog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw messages.h -o m_messages.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw messagefilter.h -o m_messagefilter.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw messagewindow.h -o m_messagewindow.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw messageshell.h -o m_messageshell.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw terminal.h -o m_terminal.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw filteredspawnlog.h -o m_filteredspawnlog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw messagefilterdialog.h -o m_messagefilterdialog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw mapicon.h -o m_mapicon.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw ui_mapicondialog.h -o m_ui_mapicondialog.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw filternotifications.h -o m_filternotifications.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw guildshell.h -o m_guildshell.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw guildlist.h -o m_guildlist.cpp
/usr/lib/qt-3.1/bin/moc -nw bazaarlog.h -o m_bazaarlog.cpp
make all-am
make[3]: Entering directory `/seq/showeq/src'
source='main.cpp' object='main.o' libtool=no \
depfile='.deps/main.Po' tmpdepfile='.deps/main.TPo' \
depmode=gcc3 /bin/sh ../depcomp \
g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.. -I/usr/lib/qt-3.1/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -DPKGDATADIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq/\" -I/usr/include/pcap -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -c -o main.o `test -f 'main.cpp' || echo './'`main.cpp
In file included from interface.h:32,
from main.cpp:39:
everquest.h:1: stray '\357' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\273' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\277' in program
In file included from interface.h:32,
from main.cpp:39:
everquest.h:1914:45: warning: no newline at end of file
In file included from spawn.h:32,
from spawnlistcommon.h:26,
from spawnlist.h:47,
from interface.h:33,
from main.cpp:39:
everquest.h:1: stray '\357' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\273' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\277' in program
In file included from spawn.h:32,
from spawnlistcommon.h:26,
from spawnlist.h:47,
from interface.h:33,
from main.cpp:39:
everquest.h:1914:45: warning: no newline at end of file
In file included from spawnshell.h:35,
from interface.h:34,
from main.cpp:39:
everquest.h:1: stray '\357' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\273' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\277' in program
In file included from spawnshell.h:35,
from interface.h:34,
from main.cpp:39:
everquest.h:1914:45: warning: no newline at end of file
In file included from itemdb.h:16,
from main.cpp:44:
everquest.h:1: stray '\357' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\273' in program
everquest.h:1: stray '\277' in program
In file included from itemdb.h:16,
from main.cpp:44:
everquest.h:1914:45: warning: no newline at end of file
make[3]: *** [main.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/seq/showeq/src'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/seq/showeq/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/seq/showeq'
make: *** [all] Error 2
[root@localhost showeq]#


hunter

Hobo
05-05-2004, 06:29 PM
Thanks guys. All works well again. Nice job on a quick fix. :-)

I<3EQ
05-05-2004, 06:39 PM
thanks piggy! remind me i owe you a cold one :D

ieatacid
05-05-2004, 07:23 PM
Thanks for the fix :)

bonkersbobcat
05-06-2004, 01:15 AM
Wow. The profile got a lot bigger,

dbrot
05-06-2004, 02:31 AM
I was trying to update from 4.3.12 to 5.0.0.7 and get this error.
Running Suse 9.0
I did a make distclean

f g++ -DHAVE_CONFIG_H -I. -I. -I.. -I/usr/lib/qt3/include -I/usr/X11R6/include -DPKGDATADIR=\"/usr/local/share/showeq/\" -I/usr/include/pcap -D_REENTRANT -O2 -Wall -g -ggdb -DDEBUG -finline-functions -DQT_THREAD_SUPPORT=1 -DDISPLAY_ICONS=false -DICON_DIR=\"/eq-icons/\" -MT bazaarlog.o -MD -MP -MF ".deps/bazaarlog.Tpo" \
-c -o bazaarlog.o `test -f 'bazaarlog.cpp' || echo './'`bazaarlog.cpp; \
then mv -f ".deps/bazaarlog.Tpo" ".deps/bazaarlog.Po"; \
else rm -f ".deps/bazaarlog.Tpo"; exit 1; \
fi
bazaarlog.cpp: In member function `void BazaarLog::bazaarSearch(const uint8_t*,
unsigned int, unsigned char)':
bazaarlog.cpp:51: error: `isdigit' undeclared (first use this function)
bazaarlog.cpp:51: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once for
each function it appears in.)
bazaarlog.cpp:60: warning: int format, time_t arg (arg 3)
make[3]: *** [bazaarlog.o] Error 1
make[3]: Leaving directory `/home/xxx/showeq/src'
make[2]: *** [all] Error 2
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/xxx/showeq/src'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/xxx/showeq'
make: *** [all] Error 2

uRit1u2CBBA=
05-06-2004, 05:34 AM
Originally posted by jaq68
so is the non beta officially dead?

Do I need to use beta now?

I'v been running a old build of non beta for a long time now and it just broke today

Note that this is an un-official patch (which is fine -- that's the point of open source, is it not?)

The 4.x will continue to be supported until 5.x is out of beta, only by fixes, not with functional enhancements.

I'm assuming that since one of the structures increased in size by nearly 5000 bytes, this is taking some time to try to figure out what the other information is for.


Originally posted by dbrot

bazaarlog.cpp:51: error: `isdigit' undeclared (first use this function)


Open up the file bazaarlog.cpp and add the following line under the existing #include line near the top of the file:

#include <ctype.h>

That will fix the compile problem.

CybMax
05-06-2004, 06:59 AM
Is there no similar fix for 4.3.21?

EDIT : Did a clean CVS download of 4.3.21 , and made the changes described here, and recompiled.. Viola! It does indeed seem to work..

a_corpse_02
05-06-2004, 08:36 AM
I can also confirm that these same changes will get 4.3.21 up and running.

uRit1u2CBBA=
05-06-2004, 08:42 AM
I don't see why it shouldn't .. the data packet structures are still the same. the only change was the 2 packts increased in size.

The fix basically makes room for them (and does no parsing of the data since we don't yet know what they do)

eqhunter
05-06-2004, 12:03 PM
ok... ok... I goofed up my everquest.h file by using the openoffice wirter and then again by using windows word. :D what do I use?






Hunter..

PS I used the search but didnt find anything

Dedpoet
05-06-2004, 01:06 PM
What distro are you running? All the new ones should have a few different text editors on whatever your main menu is. Look for something called "kate" or anything that says "text editor." Trying to walk you through a text-based editor is pretty much beyond these boards, but you may want to consider learning the basics of vi, nano, or pico.

monklett
05-06-2004, 02:47 PM
Patch worked great on 4.3.21. Thanks for the tip CodePig.

-Monklett

bonkersbobcat
05-06-2004, 04:26 PM
I put piggy's patch into CVS. Have fun.

BB

eqhunter
05-06-2004, 05:21 PM
Originally posted by Dedpoet
What distro are you running? All the new ones should have a few different text editors on whatever your main menu is. Look for something called "kate" or anything that says "text editor." Trying to walk you through a text-based editor is pretty much beyond these boards, but you may want to consider learning the basics of vi, nano, or pico.



THanks.. I found it in the accessories area.

Sky_Genie
05-07-2004, 08:04 AM
Hey all. I am still unable to see spawns in SEQ. I am running RH 9 with beta 7 of SEQ. I applied Codepig's patch to my system, which gave me gps but no spawns. I then did a cvs update (thinking maybe I screwed up the edit) recompiled and am still without skittles.

In both cases, I used "make distclean" with the normal compile.

Please note that the system was running before the patch.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated at this point.

Thanks

uRit1u2CBBA=
05-07-2004, 08:45 AM
Try doing a cvs update of the beta again. Someone updated it with the patch to fix the structure sizes.

It worked for me.

uRit1u2CBBA=
05-07-2004, 08:45 AM
Try doing a cvs update of the beta again. Someone updated it with the patch to fix the structure sizes.

It worked for me.

Sky_Genie
05-07-2004, 08:53 AM
Hey all. I am still unable to see spawns in SEQ. I am running RH 9 with beta 7 of SEQ. I applied Codepig's patch to my system, which gave me gps but no spawns. I then did a cvs update (thinking maybe I screwed up the edit) recompiled and am still without skittles.

In both cases, I used "make distclean" with the normal compile.

Please note that the system was running before the patch.

Any ideas would be greatly appreciated at this point.

Thanks

jesterbam
05-07-2004, 09:11 AM
Maybe try renaming or deleting your showeq diretories and do a fresh install. Sounds like you are getting bit by old files.

bonkersbobcat
05-07-2004, 10:58 AM
You are checking out the beta version right?

cvs co -r pre_5_0_beta showeq

You are going through all the build steps right?

make clean
make -f Makefile.dist
./configure
make


BB

uRit1u2CBBA=
05-07-2004, 11:18 AM
You missed a step in that list:

make install

bonkersbobcat
05-07-2004, 11:52 AM
That would be an installation step, not a build step, but your point is well taken.

To be facetious I would add: After installing it you also have to run it -- perhaps the user is not seeing the skittles because he or she is not actually running the program?

For some reason I had to re-build the make file and re-run configure on my machine, even though only the everquest.h file had changed. I am not exactly sure why I had to do that. I may have updated some of the build tools on my machine since I last built SEQ. Anyway, I had problems until I went through the complete build process and I recommend others do so as well if they are having problems.

BB

uRit1u2CBBA=
05-07-2004, 12:55 PM
When replying to you're last message, I was thinking that maybe he never installed it ;)

But when I did my update, I didn't do everything from fresh, just re-"make"d it, installed it, and it worked.

Noobian
05-07-2004, 01:51 PM
Ok, I'm really poor at Linux and I'm trying to upgrade to the Beta version from the standard version so that things will work correctly again.

Here's what I'm doing, some help would be greatly appreciated...


Go into my "showeq" directory then I type

cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login
<then I press enter>
cvs co -r pre_5_0_beta showeq

(and it did not work so I tried)

cvs -z3 -d pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq

(and it did not work so I tried)

cvs -d pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq

I've tried the "search" button but either I'm missing it when I read over it or, I'm not searching on the right thing.

Noobian

eqhunter
05-07-2004, 07:02 PM
Originally posted by Noobian
Ok, I'm really poor at Linux and I'm trying to upgrade to the Beta version from the standard version so that things will work correctly again.

Here's what I'm doing, some help would be greatly appreciated...


Go into my "showeq" directory then I type

cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login
<then I press enter>
cvs co -r pre_5_0_beta showeq

(and it did not work so I tried)

cvs -z3 -d pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq

(and it did not work so I tried)

cvs -d pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq

I've tried the "search" button but either I'm missing it when I read over it or, I'm not searching on the right thing.

Noobian

you know.. I could not get the "cvs -z3 -d pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq" thing to work for me.. I ended just down loading the files from the SEQ CSV (http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=10131)

give it a try

Cryonic
05-07-2004, 07:09 PM
That's because it is
-d:pserver

MISSING A : IN THE ORIGINAL INSTRUCTIONS.

h0bbit
05-10-2004, 07:51 PM
modifications seem to work pretty well for me, but i have 2 issues.

1) its not autodetecting character and level,

2) spawns are not disappearing when dead / zoning.

This something I possibly did wrong? everything else seems to work ok.

kae9
05-26-2004, 06:25 PM
i've been away on an extended vacation and am trying to patch things up so that they run again. (was gone ~8 weeks or so).

when i do the cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login

that works ok, and i hit enter at the password prompt.

Then, i try either: cvs update OR cvs -z3 update, and neither seems to do much, they sorta just sit there staring at me doing what seems to be nothing. if i let it sit long enough it eventually will time out.

thoughts? am i doing something improperly or is the cvs server flaky?

i've always used the cvs as its been the most handy way to update for me.

ieatacid
05-26-2004, 07:10 PM
Try the tarball: http://seq.sourceforge.net/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=4717

kae9
05-26-2004, 07:20 PM
to clarify, i already had the beta working, and just needed to update. following the link provided, it looked like that tarball was released in february... and i'm pretty sure that would be a step backward... of course i might be confused.

Cryonic
05-26-2004, 09:50 PM
It sits there because in each of your CVS folders you have a ROOT file that points to the wrong CVSROOT.

one of two ways will fix this:

1) Delete the showeq folder (and subdirectories) and recheckout the beta version of SEQ to get 5.0.0.8

2) Change each of the CVS/ROOT files to point at the correct CVSROOT

cmore
05-26-2004, 10:54 PM
I wiped my SEQ directories. Then logged in as root, created a showeq directory, logged in, then ran the following:

cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq

It had issues. So, I read up on it, and it says that I should be able to see modules as file names in ViewCVS. I don't see pre_5_0_beta as a module under the seq directory. What am I not understanding?

I don't want to use the tarball... I'd rather learn how to use CVS properly.

Just for kicks, I tried
cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co showeq

and it worked fine. But I think it is downloading the older version?

bonkersbobcat
05-26-2004, 11:10 PM
Originally posted by cmore
I wiped my SEQ directories. Then logged in as root, created a showeq directory, logged in, then ran the following:

cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co pre_5_0_beta showeq



You missed the "-r", it should have been:

cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co -r pre_5_0_beta showeq

The "pre_5_0_beta" is not a module, it is a revision tag.

Some stuff changed with the patch today. After you get the checkout to work, see the other thread in this forum with updates to the xml config file and the everquest.h header file. You will need to apply the posted changes to get what is currently in CVS to work.

BB

cmore
05-26-2004, 11:23 PM
Thank you.

kae9
05-27-2004, 03:41 AM
Thanks for the tips.

As it turns out, i'm currently using 5.0.0.5, and when i made the changes mentioned today, it worked beautifully, so i left it alone at that.