PDA

View Full Version : How to UPGRADE to BETA 5.0.0.7 for Dummies

keendevil
05-07-2004, 03:26 PM
Im sure many of you have read about and experienced CVS connection problems, or have been running a non-beta version of SHOWEQ up until the new patch FUBAR'd everything. I'll do my best to explain what I did to fix this, bare with me I'm also new to SHOWEQ, but I did my homework..

You'll notice I have posted previous posts asking for help, yet got no response and managed to figure it out myself... This isnt a guaranteed method, it is simply me trying to recap what I did last night in order to get showeq working with the 5-5 patch. I'll do my best to explain my findings :

I managed to get it to work after realizing that the FAQ doesnt use the extra " .seq " in the line used to connect to the CVS.. I'll try to explain :

IN THE ' SEQ CVS ' section (link found on the left side of the website) I found this (which i used to install the older version of Showeq)

The page gives examples on how to connect anonymously. This is where I found out that the line given on THIS page actually CONNECTS to the cvs, where as the line given to connect in the FAQ and on the main page do NOT work. Therefore I used this line. Here is the information from that page :

Anonymous CVS Access

This project's SourceForge.net CVS repository can be checked out through anonymous (pserver) CVS with the following instruction set. The module you wish to check out must be specified as the modulename. When prompted for a password for anonymous, simply press the Enter key. To determine the names of the modules created by this project, you may examine their CVS repository via the provided web-based CVS repository viewer.

cvs -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq login

cvs -z3 -d:pserver:[email protected]:/cvsroot/seq co modulename

Information about accessing this CVS repository may be found in our document titled, "Basic Introduction to CVS and SourceForge.net (SF.net) Project CVS Services".